Thread: Tricaster newbie: Preview window displays Program

Tricaster newbie: Preview window displays Program

I'm a newbie to Tricaster (but not to switching in general) and am just getting used to a new Mini HD4-SDI. Sorry for the extremely rudimentary question, but I am trying to do what I thought was a basic task of putting an item in the Preview window. I am switching back and forth between M/E 1 and M/E 2, and they are punched up on the PGM and PREV busses of the switcher. I would expect tp see M/E 2, which is selected on the PREV bus, in my PREVIEW window. That window is labeled "PREVIEW (M/E 2)", so makes sense, right?

However, both wondows show the PGM output, which is currently M/E 1. When I switch between the two, using FADE, PREVIEW changes to show the same as PROGRAM.

I assume I'm missing some basic setting, but can't figure it out.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Check your transition delegation in the PGM/PVW section. Perhaps you have just a keyer delegated instead of background?

Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

Yes! Looks like I had DSK 1 selected. Thanks!

BTW, I know there are a ton of very good videos on a wide variety of Tricaster topics, but is there a resource out there that serves as a very basic introduction to the Tricaster interface?

Quote Originally Posted by bobbytee View Post
    Yes! Looks like I had DSK 1 selected. Thanks!

BTW, I know there are a ton of very good videos on a wide variety of Tricaster topics, but is there a resource out there that serves as a very basic introduction to the Tricaster interface?
    https://www.newtek.com/support/certi...s/tcae-videos/
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1