Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tricaster Mini 4K - DHCP Server

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    463

    Tricaster Mini 4K - DHCP Server

    Hello.

    We've been using our new TC Mini 4K for a few days now, which happen to coincide with massive issues on the overall Harvard network.
    This morning, our IT department figured out that the TC Mini has been acting as a DHCP server, assigning addresses to all computers on our VLAN of the Harvard network (Fun!).

    I'm chatting with Newtek CS right now, and they said it's not a bug, it's a feature (https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/...etworking-Tips).

    The TC Mini has a DHCP server that's always on (news to me). It's supposed to recognize a DHCP server on an external network, and then shut off, but it's not doing that.

    Our IT department won't let the TC Mini back on the network until that's fixed (not unreasonable).

    Anyone else heard of this? Experienced this?

    Thanks.

    Imry

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    526
    Can IT give you a static IP reservation and you configure one of the NICs to use that? See if DHCP behaves its self per the link? Not sure if the campus network is setup in such a way that the IP could be used in all locations but hopefully that is the case.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    463
    The Tricaster Mini does have a reserved IP address on our network, which the DHCP server assigns to it when it first checks in. But I'll try to manually enter that info into the NIC and see if that helps.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    526
    Yeah, curious to see if manually configuring the NIC will get the DHCP stuff to finally quit for that interface, then just hope the students never use the wrong hole!

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    272
    Wait, what? Random, unconfigurable, immutable DHCP service on a Tricaster!? If I hadn't read the linked KB article I wouldn't have believed it! That seems just a tad irresponsible.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    463
    Inputting the static IP address manually into the Tricaster network settings seems to have worked for now. Our DHCP server is set to assign the reserved address to the TC Mini 4K anyway, but maybe manually putting it in there speeds up that process, and avoids the TC's DHCP server from kicking in. So far, so good. Have a long broadcast this weekend, will see how it goes.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    526
    Awesome, Good luck!

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1
    We have Juniper EX switches on our network and I turned on a feature called DHCP-snooping. Once I enabled the feature on the switch connected to the Mini the problem went away.
    Before I turned on the feature the Mini was handing out addresses to the network and was causing all kind of problems for client computers.

    I am guessing other switches have something like the DHCP-snooping. Basically the feature only allows address to be assigned to clients from trusted ports. The default trust work for us since our DHCP server is connected to the backbone trunk port.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    31
    You must have plugget any of the 4 NDI network ports to the Harvard Network. On the two regular ports Therese are No DHCP server running.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Snowjogging View Post
    You must have plugget any of the 4 NDI network ports to the Harvard Network. On the two regular ports Therese are No DHCP server running.
    This is not correct. The DHCP server binds to all network ports on the system. The two on the motherboard and the four PoE ones. It will even bind to a USB to Ethernet adapter connected to the system.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •