Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Lightwave 2015 - Working in a polygon heave scene!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,101

    Question Lightwave 2015 - Working in a polygon heave scene!

    Hi Folks.

    I've built a house, basement, ground floor, upstairs, attic, and I'm in the process of filling it up with furniture, fixtures and fittings. Each newly added object is making the wireframe mesh view of the scene very dense. When all the furnishings are in, working in the house for animation is going to be tricky as all I see is a mesh of wireframes! It's a shame Layout doesn't have layers like Modeller does, so anyone got any advice on how to work with a mesh-dense scene?
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  2. #2
    Registered User Oldcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    453
    Have you tied using the VPR? I don't have the greatest GPU, but I sometimes find that's faster than the open GL, even when I'm doing thousands of instances.

    Good Luck,

  3. #3
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,041
    If you need to work in wireframe view (instead of shaded), use "front face wireframe" in your Layout view. That will cut out at least half the mess.

    You can also use the Scene Editor to "set color" on each item. This makes the wireframes less of a mess.

    Edit:

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    ...It's a shame Layout doesn't have layers like Modeller does, so anyone got any advice on how to work with a mesh-dense scene?
    I should have read the whole post. Yes, Layout does have layers, with the help of Mike Green's free LayersMC script ( http://www.mikegreen.name/Lscripts.html#LayersMC ) or Oliver Hotz's UberPass ( https://origamidigital.com/cart/inde...&product_id=63 ). (UberPass requires 2018 or 2019).

    Edit again...

    Without any extra plugins, you can use selection sets in the new Scene / Dope Editor. Save and recover selection sets, then toggle visibility for everything in the set. Click the "Sets" button for all options...

    https://docs.lightwave3d.com/lw2019/...ne-dope-editor
    Last edited by raymondtrace; 01-09-2020 at 01:15 PM.
    LW4, 7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  4. #4
    UberPass would be a treat for this kind of work.
    Using the scene editor, too, would be an option by turning some things off, coloring or even diffent shading models.

    Layers are there in several ways.
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  5. #5
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,605
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Hi Folks.

    I've built a house, basement, ground floor, upstairs, attic, and I'm in the process of filling it up with furniture, fixtures and fittings. Each newly added object is making the wireframe mesh view of the scene very dense. When all the furnishings are in, working in the house for animation is going to be tricky as all I see is a mesh of wireframes! It's a shame Layout doesn't have layers like Modeller does, so anyone got any advice on how to work with a mesh-dense scene?
    Paul,

    Ran into the same thing a few months back & got just the tool for ya... just not sure where to find it now. Can't recall now who casually mention this tool on the forum now but I thank them.

    Look for ef_ItemFocus. Series of three lsc scripts. In layout, you simply select the item, click the script & item is isolated. Click again & all is restored.

    Check the typical places as it wasn't hard to find.

    If all else fails: Send questions, comments, bugs, and requests to [email protected]
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB DDR4-2666
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core (64 cores avail)

  6. #6
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,101
    Wow, thanks very much for all this feedback. I'll work through it later tonight, I'm sure something here will help. Much appreciated.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  7. #7
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,168
    Display..Dynamic update and set a low threshold, this means when you rotate viewport or rotate something, the viewport display will go in to box mode for any object..
    thus making it faster to move, rotate etc..and once you stop orbiting, moving something..it automaticly goes back to the viewport mode you have set, such as full wireframe or full textured shading.

    Oops..thought it was a speed issue, but I see know it was about a messy wireframe display.

  8. #8
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,101
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    Oops..thought it was a speed issue, but I see know it was about a messy wireframe display.
    Bahaha!! Yep, it's trying to see the objects in the house and animate them while they buried in a cloud of meshes! Thanks to all again for the helpful tips. The Front Facing Wireframe definitely helps with the clutter. I have to work in wireframe mode as any shaded mode just presents the roof and walls of the house to me. LOL!! Layers in Layout as they are implemented into Modeller would be awesome! Thanks again, Folks, much appreciated.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  9. #9
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Bahaha!! Yep, it's trying to see the objects in the house and animate them while they buried in a cloud of meshes! Thanks to all again for the helpful tips. The Front Facing Wireframe definitely helps with the clutter. I have to work in wireframe mode as any shaded mode just presents the roof and walls of the house to me. LOL!! Layers in Layout as they are implemented into Modeller would be awesome! Thanks again, Folks, much appreciated.
    And I also missed the spelling on "now" and wrote know...I often loose on that one in many cases.

  10. #10
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,041
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    ... I have to work in wireframe mode as any shaded mode just presents the roof and walls of the house to me.
    This may have been overthought...

    Wouldn't it be cool, if in Modeler, you could set each layer to display as shaded, wireframe, or bounding box? You can in Layout. It's in the scene editor. Just switch the display of your roof and walls to wireframe or bounding box and leave everything else as shaded.
    LW4, 7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  11. #11
    Frequenter
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    ... Layers in Layout as they are implemented into Modeller would be awesome! Thanks again, Folks, much appreciated.
    Maybe I am not seeing the forest before the trees here:
    Donīt you already did model your object (House and Furniture, whatever..) as a layered object?
    If so, how do you NOT have it in Layout as separately accessible layers/objects?
    It is not so much more difficult to check/uncheck visibility individually of single layers or even less hassle to color the parts wireframes in Layout compared to modeler, isnīt it?

  12. #12
    You also might want to think about breaking up your scene based on the shots you'll need. That will also help with your render times.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  13. #13
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,070
    Hi Paul.. just curious, sorry to jump off topic. But did you give up on 2019? Just wondering. Feel free to shoot me a PM if you don't want to respond here. I understand. Yes.. messy wireframes. Always a challenge once you get tons of stuff. Micro managing a scene can be tedious sometimes. I've even went crazy to combine lots of objects so my scene list is easy to select and hide them instead of grabbing a ton of colored ones on and off. Good luck!

  14. #14
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,101
    Hi Folks.

    Thanks for the continued input here, very much appreciated. I also appreciate the batch of screenshots and link to the plug, thanks. I'll be sure to work through all suggestions.

    In response to how the house the built, I build the house, empty of objects, and then built each house furnishing, fixtures and fittings, as standalone objects which were taken into house scene and positioned. As more and more objects were created, the mesh density got thicker. I'm still populating the house with stuff, not finished yet, which is making the scene more and more difficult to work with, so I appreciate the help here, thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by mummyman View Post
    Hi Paul.. just curious, sorry to jump off topic. But did you give up on 2019? Just wondering.
    I never bought Lightwave 2019, I did buy 2018. The totally new interface elements, specifically the node editor, was my downfall. I spend about eleven months trying to learn and understand that node editor but after eleven months I had done very little 3D creativity and I knew from looking at tutorials and reading the manual that if I linked A to B to C to D, I got the result I wanted. But I didn't understand it, why I had to link A to B to C to D or what those linkages achieved.

    So I had a choice, continue to battle with the interface which was double-dutch to me and was killing my 3D creativity, or go back to 2015 which I knew and understood. So I went back to 2015. Not sure what this means for my future because at some point Lightwave 2015 might stop working and then what do I do??? But for now that's why I'm using it, because I know it and I understand it. That node editor makes no sense to me at all, even after eleven odd months of trying to wrap my head around it.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  15. #15
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Hi Folks.

    Thanks for the continued input here, very much appreciated. I also appreciate the batch of screenshots and link to the plug, thanks. I'll be sure to work through all suggestions.

    In response to how the house the built, I build the house, empty of objects, and then built each house furnishing, fixtures and fittings, as standalone objects which were taken into house scene and positioned. As more and more objects were created, the mesh density got thicker. I'm still populating the house with stuff, not finished yet, which is making the scene more and more difficult to work with, so I appreciate the help here, thanks!



    I never bought Lightwave 2019, I did buy 2018. The totally new interface elements, specifically the node editor, was my downfall. I spend about eleven months trying to learn and understand that node editor but after eleven months I had done very little 3D creativity and I knew from looking at tutorials and reading the manual that if I linked A to B to C to D, I got the result I wanted. But I didn't understand it, why I had to link A to B to C to D or what those linkages achieved.

    So I had a choice, continue to battle with the interface which was double-dutch to me and was killing my 3D creativity, or go back to 2015 which I knew and understood. So I went back to 2015. Not sure what this means for my future because at some point Lightwave 2015 might stop working and then what do I do??? But for now that's why I'm using it, because I know it and I understand it. That node editor makes no sense to me at all, even after eleven odd months of trying to wrap my head around it.

    "Dont be afraid of nodes" a certain lightwave gure said (not the lighwave guru) and that in reference with all the nodal workflow in 2019.
    And itīs a bit funny, houdini almost built on nodes, are constantly workin out frameworks around it for it to be more "artist friendly" while the workflow of recent lightwave seem to go the other way around, disconnecting things that was good in a framework around the tool, and just leaving it as nodes only, that is something I donīt like nor appreciate.

    All hardcore node fans go.."but thereīs so much you can do", or..to me nodes are the natural state, I doubt though that it in general can be said as somekind of superior workflow in terms of being artist friendly, itīs like having a piece of wood and some hair from a wild boar, some glue some color pigments, some oil...now you do the work and mix it as you please.

    I find the very strict approach recently of nodes implementation in Lightwave without thinking about wrapping it up with better framework and controls disturbing, I can get by with nodes..but I also recognize if things would be better wrapped up with controls and such, One would get much more creativity out of it.

    Take the new hypervoxels system for instance, even if I can work that out and even though it in essential delivers more realistic clouds, and explosions, had that volumetric worked with the same workflow as the old hypervoxels..I would have been able to be much more creative with that.. and I am 100% sure of that, and I talk about how you access it, set it up and apply it and navigate etc, but maintaining the new volumetrics pbr and main functions, not the old shading system.

    I can only hope they stop and reflect over this before itīs too late, and simply try and be more careful of new tools and how to access them, make nodes accessable for flexibility and enhancement, but not as required for the basic tool, if they start to repeat that mantra..it has potential to get back right on track again ..and empowering artists to be more creative than scaring them away, as in the example of you.

    Ivé mentioned it many times before, they should implement shelf tools, with tools that has gone through a framework build up around nodal functionality within a certain tool, just like houdini does it.
    Example of VDB gas solver for instance, you open the shelf, pick the icon of gas fluids, and it will automaticly add a null container ...already set to vdb, already setup with the gas solver connected, then it of course should have a window controller for the main gas solver parameters, as it stands now..it often requires jumping in too deep to get going, you should do that only when you need to go deeper.

    Same with normal primitive item in volume mode, you select your volume item from the shelf, click or drag it to the scen,and voila you do not even have to set up a hypertexture through the node system, itīs already connected.

    Simply put, make lightwave fast and easy to use Again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •