Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can Modeler Test for Model Correctness?

  1. #1
    SciEngArtist PabloMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    356

    Can Modeler Test for Model Correctness?

    In other words, can it test that the model is fully enclosed and there are no surfaces extending into space?

  2. #2
    there is no sanctuary....
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI USA
    Posts
    546
    No, that’s not it’s purpose, but would be a good idea for a plug-in. I just use Cura and go back and forth until it’s clean.
    Bill Carey

    3900X 3.79
    Win10 Pro 64bit
    32gig Ram
    AMD 5700XT 8gb 20.4.2
    LW 2020.02 x64
    Space Navigator

  3. #3
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,356
    If object is fully closed, it has no edges used in just one polygon. There are only edges with two polygons.

    Merge points, unify polys, delete one and two point polygons,
    and open Edge Statistics window,
    and toggle checkmark in line for "1 Polygons" and ">2 Polygons", if there are any.

  4. #4
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    2,038
    I believe the term is Manifold where an objects surface doesn't penetrate itself, but maybe your looking for something else as "correctness" can encompass a number of issues.

    BTW, the newly enhanced Join tool in LWCad can now fix coplanar's problems. Quick too. Shows you where & how many co- points, edges, & polys.
    Earth can't be flat otherwise cats would have pushed everything off the edge!

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core

  5. #5
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    17,395
    There is also mesh repair under Detail/polygons/mesh repair...
    With options
    clear stray points.
    clear one point poly.
    clear two point poly.
    cap holes.
    triangulate polys.
    non manifold edges.

    It will automaticly check for possible issues and thus the options not having any issue will be greyed out, but if there is any issue..such as a hole in the mesh, it will highlight that option with a checked mark..before you commit to repair that issue.

  6. #6
    SciEngArtist PabloMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    356
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    If object is fully closed, it has no edges used in just one polygon. There are only edges with two polygons.
    Merge points, unify polys, delete one and two point polygons,
    and open Edge Statistics window,
    and toggle checkmark in line for "1 Polygons" and ">2 Polygons", if there are any.
    Yeah. Basically I am wanting to make sure the object is fully enclosed. Thanks for the info. I hadn't thought of this.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •