Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sapphire Pulse RX 580?

  1. #1
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724

    Sapphire Pulse RX 580?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CA6F7BA2-8F3B-4C29-88A0-43C99EED4E90.jpeg 
Views:	13 
Size:	214.6 KB 
ID:	146492Has anyone been running the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 in a Mac Pro? I’m still running Lightwave2018. Just wondering if everything ran ok. Also, will 2018 run in MoJave? Thanks!
    Last edited by Tony3d; 12-25-2019 at 06:04 PM.

  2. #2
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,426
    Have had one for over 2 years, works fine.
    LW2018 & 2019 work in Mojave, however if you need LW2015 scene access, stay on High Sierra.

    The was a visual bug introduced in the Mojave OS which affected LW (which was fixed in LW2018).
    But earlier versions than 2018 have not been fixed, so loads of the icons are missing.
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019 LWCad 2018

  3. #3
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    Quote Originally Posted by Markc View Post
    Have had one for over 2 years, works fine.
    LW2018 & 2019 work in Mojave, however if you need LW2015 scene access, stay on High Sierra.

    The was a visual bug introduced in the Mojave OS which affected LW (which was fixed in LW2018).
    But earlier versions than 2018 have not been fixed, so loads of the icons are missing.
    So it MoJave won’t run 2015 scene files correctly?

  4. #4
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,426
    2015 will run as normal as do the scenes you have saved.
    However a lot of the interface buttons are ‘garbled’ and unreadable.

    Can’t find the thread at the minute, and I have stayed on HS for this reason.
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019 LWCad 2018

  5. #5
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    Ok, thanks for the heads up.

  6. #6
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,426
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019 LWCad 2018

  7. #7
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    Quote Originally Posted by Markc View Post
    Thanks! Wow that really sucks! I could run it in bootcamp though. Already have it installed. Think I’m just going to give my clients a heads up. Tell them I’m updating my system, and after a certain date, will no longer be able to load their old scene files. Can’t run my life around Lightwave anymore. Besides I’m actually retired anyway, but still do jobs that happen to come in. Really like the old shading system more than the new one. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F4419B2A-F7E5-4B59-9E33-F6903CBC7816.jpeg 
Views:	10 
Size:	1.49 MB 
ID:	146495

  8. #8
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,007
    One of the very few nice things about Mac OS X is that you can clone your local OS drive with LW2015 to an external drive as backup. Then you can upgrade to the latest greatest OS on the primary local drive. Whenever you have to resurrect an odd 2015 job, just connect the back up external drive and boot from it.
    LW4, 7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  9. #9
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    Quote Originally Posted by raymondtrace View Post
    One of the very few nice things about Mac OS X is that you can clone your local OS drive with LW2015 to an external drive as backup. Then you can upgrade to the latest greatest OS on the primary local drive. Whenever you have to resurrect an odd 2015 job, just connect the back up external drive and boot from it.
    Already have an internal all setup with High Sierra in bay two. Think I’ll just do a fresh install of Lightwave 2015 onto it. Great idea!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •