Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Session attributes

  1. #1
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512

    Session attributes

    Say I've been using a particular session for a year. I feel I should start a new, fresh session but I'd like it to reflect all the attributes from the previous session such as audio settings, audio follow settings, camera settings, etc. Is there a way to start a new session and call up the old attributes without having to do them one-by-one for the new session?
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  2. #2
    Registered User epavideo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    80
    I back out of my session and make a new one. You can use the one whose settings you’d like to replicate as the template for the new one. I do this when I need to preserve a good working and live-tested session while attempting to make improvements and modifications to a copy of it,

  3. #3
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by epavideo View Post
    I back out of my session and make a new one. You can use the one whose settings you’d like to replicate as the template for the new one. I do this when I need to preserve a good working and live-tested session while attempting to make improvements and modifications to a copy of it,
    Yes. I thought so. But How?
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  4. #4
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512
    The way I've done it before was to go back and fourth between the two sessions and setup the new session atribute-by-atribute. Takes a while.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    I believe for audio you can create a memory preset and export them. You can do that for the main switcher, MEs, and audio settings. Once you export them go into the new session and goto that area (audio mixer etc) and right click an empty memory slot and select import and bring the settings in that way.

  6. #6
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512
    Great! I'll give it a shot. THX
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  7. #7
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    311
    When creating a new session, you can use the old one as a 'template'. I am not sure exactly how many of the attributes are copied over though!
    It might save you LOTS of time!

    Andrew
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  8. #8
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512
    I tried both methods. That is, I saved my settings in the memory roll-outs but I noticed the "Use Template" option when I made a New session. I went ahead and selected the old session and when everything loaded, it appeared it was a duplication of the settings I wanted to keep. So I didn't need to import the saved MeM Slots from the old session. Thanks everybody.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    When you use the template option it brings all the clips, objects etc. I use it because I created a base template of what I need for sports etc but I never run a show in it. Its nice to be able to spin up a new session quickly but it will bring along any clutter.

  10. #10
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by stp_productions View Post
    When you use the template option it brings all the clips, objects etc. I use it because I created a base template of what I need for sports etc but I never run a show in it. Its nice to be able to spin up a new session quickly but it will bring along any clutter.
    Really good idea.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •