Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: Will Lightwave Render Engine use 128 Threads?

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol
    I want the 3990X too but its going to be way too expensive.
    Expect 4000$ at least for that particular one.
    While i understand why AMD is using a new socket for the 3000 Series TRs its kind of frustrating.
    Anyone here interested in acquiring my old 2990WX?

    Btw i wondered about something, maybe i should start a new thread about it.
    When you compare user results in the benchmark threat it seems like Lightwave favors Intel CPUs.
    Most other render packages seem to run faster on AMD now with the 3000 series on a core to core basis as AMD has now a higher instructions per clock speed.
    Maybe some of you heard about the Matlab problem?
    Matlab codepath problem
    Now i wonder what Lightwave does when it starts.
    Does it check CPU vendor ID? Does it use the same CPU extensions on both Intel and AMD processors?
    Or is there something similar going on like with Matlab?

  2. #17
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    so what is the best bang for buck cpu setup these days?
    Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

    Cheers,
    Mike

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemon Wolf View Post
    While i understand why AMD is using a new socket for the 3000 Series TRs its kind of frustrating.
    At least it's a decision made by engineering and not by marketing.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,981
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    better than a threadripper ? I am not up on cpu's.

    is Intel dead now? no point with dual cpus setups?

  4. #19
    3950 is the next gen threadripper

    Intel has good cpu's but for the price, AMD is better, IMO
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  5. #20
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    better than a threadripper ? I am not up on cpu's.
    Bang for buck, yes. Absolute single CPU performance? That'd be the threadripper.
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    is Intel dead now? no point with dual cpus setups?
    Given that you can also get dual Epycs from AMD...

    But it seems that Intel will be trailing behind when it comes to high performance desktop and server CPUs at least until 2021.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  6. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis View Post
    Yep not sure is there any "hard coded" limit now but i'm pretty sure it'll work with 128 thread also.

    Here is my 80 in action:
    http://prntscr.com/q5zg5d
    Nice! I suspect that if your rendering with 80 threads then there likely isn't a limit like you say. I guess we will probably have that verified sometime next year with the 128 Threadripper get's released and hopefully some Lightwaver will get it.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  7. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas Jordan View Post
    ..... hopefully some Lightwaver will get it.
    Already saving my pennies.....
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  8. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    3,648
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

    Cheers,
    Mike

    - - - Updated - - -


    At least it's a decision made by engineering and not by marketing.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    looking to get a good premade system based on the Ryzen 3950x, for both GPU and CPU rendering and I stumbled into this...What do you guys think? (not a hardware guy at all and my budget is under 2k)


    https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/cty/...04976473485531
    Last edited by robertoortiz; 12-06-2019 at 03:25 PM.
    This message does not reflect the opinions of the US Government, CG Networks or CGTALK.com. The opinions expressed on this posting are on my own volition.

  9. #24

    i never know how to recommend those prebuilt ones, since they are often Twice the price of what you build yourself.

    my advice, get a guy to build it for you. much better. much cheaper.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    i never know how to recommend those prebuilt ones, since they are often Twice the price of what you build yourself.

    my advice, get a guy to build it for you. much better. much cheaper.
    Ya I built my own 2990WX machine last year and it was about 1/3rd cheaper than ordering a prebuilt machine and mine has better quality parts that a prebuilt as well.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    856
    I did a build some years ago with an I7 3930K chip and Gigabyte motherboard. At the time my research seemed to show that Asus and Gigabyte motherboards were for overclocking enthusiasts, but Intel boards were for a more conservative build, but I don't know what people go for today... Funny thing is there were more bios settings than I could understand, so there was a trial and error thing going on with involuntary boot cycles, but it seemed to tame in the end... My next build will probably go with an Intel board.

  12. #27
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLexx View Post
    My next build will probably go with an Intel board.
    Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    856
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Thanks Mike. Will probably look at Gibabyte then, since there is a certain familiarity. I do remember a strange Intel gaming-type board where a crude blue led skull would light up when it was switched on, as if some boardroom businessmen were trying to be cool to compete.

  14. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    1,645
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Yeah exactly, and tbh imho they were never really good.

    I was never disappointed with ASUS mainboards or Graphic Cards but Gigabyte are also good. They also put more durable capacitors and better chipset cooling then most other companies. The MSI and Intel ones I had were not that great. Maybe MSI got better now but I don't take chances anymore when it's about hardware components. Also, get a high quality PSU to avoid troubles and instabilities. Same goes for RAM modules.

  15. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    1,645
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLexx View Post
    I did a build some years ago with an I7 3930K chip and Gigabyte motherboard. At the time my research seemed to show that Asus and Gigabyte motherboards were for overclocking enthusiasts, but Intel boards were for a more conservative build, but I don't know what people go for today... Funny thing is there were more bios settings than I could understand, so there was a trial and error thing going on with involuntary boot cycles, but it seemed to tame in the end... My next build will probably go with an Intel board.
    See my reply about mainboards, PSU and RAM.

    BTW you can disable any overclocking in the BIOS anyway if you feel it's not stable or heating up the system too much.

    ASUS and Gigabyte Boards feature much higher quality components, at least in the higher end models (e.g ROG).
    Last edited by Marander; 12-09-2019 at 07:44 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •