Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Will Lightwave Render Engine use 128 Threads?

  1. #1

    Will Lightwave Render Engine use 128 Threads?

    With AMDs confirmation and teaser of the 3990X 64 core 128 thread Threadripper coming next year I was wonder if the current Lightwave render engine will detect over 64 threads? I know that Blender Cycles renderer is currently limited to 64 threads but with it's fast development I'm sure that will change shortly. I'm also certain that the new Modo render engine that is currently being developed will take advantage of these kind of processors. Since the new Lightwave render engine is still fairly new I'm wonder if it was written to take advantage of these kind of CPUs.

    3990X announced https://www.pcmag.com/news/372159/am...adripper-3990x
    Last edited by Nicolas Jordan; 11-26-2019 at 09:57 AM.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    168
    It is probably still possible to disable HyperThreading/SMT and run it as a 64 core/64 thread CPU.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Free4Ever View Post
    It is probably still possible to disable HyperThreading/SMT and run it as a 64 core/64 thread CPU.
    I'm sure you will be able to do that but doing that would defeat the purpose of it's design. You might as well pay less and get a 3970X then.
    Last edited by Nicolas Jordan; 11-26-2019 at 10:20 AM.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Socal
    Posts
    436
    Will Windows recognize 128 threads? I seem to remember there being a setting somewhere.

  5. #5
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,900
    Ask Lewis/Elvis... he has the fastest machines I've ever heard of, he'll know
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    168
    Looks like 3 other renderers on Linux are 30-40% faster with SMT on, tested on a 12 core 3900x. A lot better nowadays... https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...3900X-SMT-Perf

  7. #7
    LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

    I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/4xRTX 2080Ti
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    862
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis View Post
    LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

    I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.
    Very interesting. Was yours a self-build ? I wonder what would be a decent dual cpu motherboard nowadays, as it might be worth considering fast cpu native rendering over super-fast subscription gpu rendering. Are you broadly happy with your speeds ?

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLexx View Post
    Very interesting. Was yours a self-build ? I wonder what would be a decent dual cpu motherboard nowadays, as it might be worth considering fast cpu native rendering over super-fast subscription gpu rendering. Are you broadly happy with your speeds ?
    Yes it was built by myself.
    Actually i switched to DualXeons in 2013 when i build my first DualXeon MB+CPU combo (Asus Z9-dpe8 WS motherboard + 2*E5 2690 Xeons - 8c/16t per CPU - still works fine) and then in 2016 i switched that workstation to new one also built myself with Asus z10pe-d8 ws motherboard and 2* Xeon E5-2698v4 (20c/40t per cpu) which i still use as my workstation + 2 render slaves.

    Back then it was good but i stared my CPU render transition to octane in 2015 and since 2017 i'm rendering 99% of my stuff with GPUs so not really need so much CPU power but PCI-E lanes come in hand with 4 GPUs or 5 which i had at one point in my workstation earlier. For my work (product design/arch-viz) CPU renderer speed in LW can't keep up with Octane with similar priced CPU/GPU but it depend son user needs and going to GPU render is not cheap considering possible changes of hardware needed to update current CPU renderer to GPU and prices of strong GPUs. But if machine is build from start then my choice would be GPU (and I ended up in 3 workstations with total of 11 GPUs nowdays). And if you are going to GPU then single socket MB and decent mid-priced CPU is enough.
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/4xRTX 2080Ti
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis View Post
    LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

    I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.
    Thanks Lewis, it's good to know that Lightwave 2018 and up is future proof for multiple threads on CPUs.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  11. #11
    I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  12. #12
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,946
    ...if LW does not have option for more threads but OS recognize them, one can run multiple LW instances on the same machine to get 100% during rendering final image sequence of animation..

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas Jordan View Post
    Thanks Lewis, it's good to know that Lightwave 2018 and up is future proof for multiple threads on CPUs.
    Yep not sure is there any "hard coded" limit now but i'm pretty sure it'll work with 128 thread also.

    Here is my 80 in action:
    http://prntscr.com/q5zg5d
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/4xRTX 2080Ti
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  14. #14
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol
    No. It needs a new board and chipset. AMD decided to go this route because the TR3 massively benefits from the improved i/o.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,983
    so what is the best bang for buck cpu setup these days?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •