Thread: Collada Output from Modeler or Layout and Second Life

Collada Output from Modeler or Layout and Second Life

Hi all,
    I'm new to 3d modeling and LightWave. I have a model I created in modeler and layout as part of a tutorial. I output the model as a Collada file. When I upload it into Second Life the upload seems to go fine but when I rex the model/object it's invisible. It is there, I know, because, I can 'Edit' it (and see it in outline). But it is invisible.

I have tried with a simple cube from Blender and Modeler and the Blender object is visible but the Modeler object is not.

Any ideas on what I might be doing incorrectly?

Thanks,
    Greg

Not processing it through blender

Well..not sure really, there arenīt any setting options for collada, you could try and make sure the object is double sided first.
    Otherwise simply pass it through blender before going to second life.

Hmmm, when I output my model in collada then into blender a lot of detail is missing and there is some corruption. Is this possibly the problem that collada isn't a sufficiently strong specification to encode all the features one can put into a model with LightWave? If so, are their guidelines for building models that work well with collada?
    Thanks,
    Greg

Quote Originally Posted by bollella View Post
    Hmmm, when I output my model in collada then into blender a lot of detail is missing and there is some corruption. Is this possibly the problem that collada isn't a sufficiently strong specification to encode all the features one can put into a model with LightWave? If so, are their guidelines for building models that work well with collada?
    Thanks,
    Greg