Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2019.1.4 Installs No Icons in Start Menu

  1. #1
    Cultural Engineer Liber777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Most Chosen City on Earth
    Posts
    621

    2019.1.4 Installs No Icons in Start Menu

    I've now installed and uninstalled 2019.1.4 twice and it does not create a program group in the Windows 10 start menu nor any icons. It does create Layout, Modeler and NRC Controller icons on the desktop, but none of the other icons that it normally creates in the start menu program group that it has installed in every version before. I even ran the installer the 2nd time as Administrator. Of course I can create the shortcuts manually and make up my own alias names, but that's a bit of a PITA. Anyone else? Thanks
    << Nothing is true, everything is permitted >>

    DaVinci Resolve, Fusion, Generation, LightWave, ChronoSculpt, NevronMotion, REDcine-X Pro,
    Nuendo, messiahStudio Pro 5, VT[4] v4.6, SpeedEDIT 2...

  2. #2
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,479
    Never noticed that before, but same here. I rarely launch from there; just the desktop icons.
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

  3. #3
    Cultural Engineer Liber777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Most Chosen City on Earth
    Posts
    621
    Thanks for confirming. I never use the desktop icons and keep an organized start menu. Seems to be an installer issue for 2019.1.4 only. I didn't install 2019.1.3, but 2019.1.2 set up the program group and icons correctly.

    NewTek?

    Thanks
    << Nothing is true, everything is permitted >>

    DaVinci Resolve, Fusion, Generation, LightWave, ChronoSculpt, NevronMotion, REDcine-X Pro,
    Nuendo, messiahStudio Pro 5, VT[4] v4.6, SpeedEDIT 2...

  4. #4
    Possibly a bug report should be filed? I also never have launched LW from a start menu, only desktop in all the version's I've ever used.

  5. #5
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Liber777 View Post
    Thanks for confirming. I never use the desktop icons and keep an organized start menu. Seems to be an installer issue for 2019.1.4 only. I didn't install 2019.1.3, but 2019.1.2 set up the program group and icons correctly.

    NewTek?

    Thanks
    I'm using 2019.1.3. Not sure now why I didn't update to 1.4; guess it mostly addressed issues with Unreal that I don't use.
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,928
    yeah i had this bug, not sure why. made own shortcuts

  7. #7
    Cultural Engineer Liber777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Most Chosen City on Earth
    Posts
    621
    I filed a bug report.
    << Nothing is true, everything is permitted >>

    DaVinci Resolve, Fusion, Generation, LightWave, ChronoSculpt, NevronMotion, REDcine-X Pro,
    Nuendo, messiahStudio Pro 5, VT[4] v4.6, SpeedEDIT 2...

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    155
    I posted about this earlier but I just made my own startup shortcuts. It doesn't impede my use of Lightwave so I didn't submit a report.
    System:

    i7-8086K / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •