Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to restore "Thicken" from the Multiply/Extend menu?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    33

    How to restore "Thicken" from the Multiply/Extend menu?

    I have lost the "Thicken" procedure from my Muliply/Extend menu on Lightwave 2018.0.6.
    Can anyone tell me how to get the button and procedure back?

  2. #2
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,020
    Enter Menu -> F10 -> above th 'Command' type 'Thicken' and drug this into the Muliply/Extend menu.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    33
    Thanks for your reply.
    When I go into "Ëdit Menu" "Thicken" is not in the list under Muliply/Extend in Lightwave 2018.0.6.
    It is in the list for my copy of Lightwave 2018.0.3.
    So I don't know what to do to regain "Thicken" in 2018.0.6.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    380
    Maybe you somehow deleted the Thicken.m plugin from it's folder "support\plugins\model\core_tools\tools" See if it's there, and copy it from your other installation if not found, or reinstall. This is just a guess.

  5. #5
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,608
    The whole "missing plugin problem" where LW silently drops a plugin every now and then has been occurring for many years now, that's a much more likely cause.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  6. #6
    Can't be, it is now in a bundled package- Modeling Tool < Core_Tools.Plugin, it is not a standalone plugin or scrips, rescan the directory Lightwave3D < Support < Plugins, and the go refresh the menus (change the preset drop down menu to any version and then back to default)

  7. #7
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,469
    Here's another bit of mystery. I've 2019.13 & I have Thicken where I'd expect under the Multiply/Extend menu, but a second Find click also shows it in the MMB menu under Sequence?

    Where/what is the Sequence Tab in Modeler?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Thicken in MMB Sequence.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	48.2 KB 
ID:	146170
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

  8. #8
    same here, but scripts and plugins do not always have the same name in the config menu as they do in the directory on your HD, their name is being pulled from whatever the coder named it as their script not the visible name you see, I would imagine this is some kind of internal thing and refers to the bundled plugin.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    33
    Thanks for all the help. "Thicken"is back in my copy of 2018.0.6. Not sure how it happened, but I tried all the suggestions above. I think it might have been the re-scanning. Thanks again.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    33
    "Thicken" has disappeared again in 2018.0.6. It appeared in the menu after I followed the suggestions above, but when I opened Lightwave again it was gone> I can see it in Lightwave 2018.0.6 support<plugins<model<core_tools<tools, but I don't see how to get it back in the menu. It has an .m extension ( Thicken.m ). What is an .m file?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •