Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 2019.1.4 nrc

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,904

    2019.1.4 nrc

    anyone got the plugins working properly in the network render controller setup?

    was fine under 201.19.2 but now no matter what i do, nodes will not validate the plugins.

    I can hand edit cfg file and as far as i can tell it works but won’t validate.

    i followed instructions in tut in docs and added support folder but that seems to make a set of errors that were never present before. i thought that it was just plugins that were needed in 2019.1.2, did something change?

    nrc server will not adjust the config paths either. either there is a bug or it’s something local to my machine.

    i setup lw 2015.3 with screamernet and no issues and as i say, 2019.1.2 was just fine but then i went and upgraded :/


    anyone else encountered this?

  2. #2
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,100
    Hmm, works okay for me. You're sure that everything is using network paths? For me, I have all my NRC stuff on another old machine in my network. It doesn't render. I have a network-accessible folder called NRC that has three subfolders - config, content, and support. Everything is run with UNC paths. Make sure that the Scene Content Directory field is set with the same network path, and that the Image Output Directory is too.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-10-18_18-29-07.png 
Views:	28 
Size:	530.3 KB 
ID:	146162

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,904
    i found out what this was. had to specify support folder instead of plugins folder then it worked. (suppor folder was there as mentioned in docs with plugins folder inside) i also had to manually set the paths in the cfg files as i still wasn’t getting auto adjustment of cfgs.

    on a side note, i noticed in 2019.1.4 that if i have all plugins in plugins folder including 3rd party bought plugins, lw would not auto scan them, had to manually add them then cfg was written.

    yes, have exact same setup as you with nrc folder and sub folders. thanks beevee
    Last edited by gar26lw; 10-18-2019 at 08:05 PM.

  4. #4
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,047
    I'd like to look more into this setup too. Does everything need to be pulled from the same area? Or can Content, Scenes, and Renders be on other network machines? Also, can these paths work with older versions of Lightwave? or just 2012019 scenes?

    Also, I was able to get everything validated... however, once I start rendering.. nothing shows up! Using 2019.1.4. Everything looks totally ready. I tried the troubleshooting .flx too.

  5. #5
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,100
    Everything, including configs, can be on other network machines. In my screenshot above, the machine called Adelle is not where I am calling NRC from but a secondary machine on the network. It is hosting the configs, content, and the renders resulting from the scene. Knife is my main machine, and where I was running the NRC controller (and tasker). I created a network share called NRC on Adelle, with three directories. Content contains all the scenes I want to render through NRC, support is a mirror of my LightWave\support tree with all subfolders, and config contains my current configuration files - be careful to make sure that when you create the configs for use with nrc you have used the network path to look for plugins. In my case, I opened the plugins dialogue with Alt-F11, hit Scan Directory, and navigated to the support directory I created on Adelle:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Layout_2019-10-21_09-39-48.png 
Views:	11 
Size:	32.8 KB 
ID:	146173

    This ensures that all plugins can be use for all your nodes. If you get red for the check on configs, it is probably because of the paths for the plugins.

    Hope this helps,

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  6. #6
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,047
    I'll keep looking into it. Everything is green, and rendering. But nothing is being exported to the output folder. Maybe a read/write issue. Not sure. Thank you for the help! And pics

  7. #7
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,100
    Do you have a path in the Image Output Directory field? What does it say in the log?

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  8. #8
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,047
    Yes.. I do have a path in the image output directory. The log file just shows that the frames are being rendered. Maybe I installed the render machine incorrectly? But the controller sees it fine.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,904

  10. #10
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,047
    Sweet. Thanks fellas. I'll look into it more later. It's not a necessity for me.. so I don't want to waste everyones time. But it's great that it is there! I'll watch that video too. Thanks!

  11. #11
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,047
    With all my validations green... I might be stuck where you, in your video mention at 11:05 about the read only option. We must have certain permissions set because mine won't stay unchecked. So that could be the issue. Darn.

  12. #12
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,100
    This is a fantastic video! I'm working my way through it but just wanted to come back to congratulate you. I, personally, have never had any permissions issues because, ever since LightWave was available for Windows, I have installed at the root (C:\NewTek\LightWave...). This was initially to avoid the Screamernet quotes issue with pathnames with spaces in them, thanks Microsoft, but it also gets around the increasingly locked down nature of the Program Files folder.

    Could we possibly add your video to our User-generated tutorial section, please?

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,904
    oh thats not my vid, by coincidence just came up in youtube subs. you’d have to ask dude who made it.
    prolly a link in his channel some place.

  14. #14
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,100
    Right, thanks. I thought it was odd that your name or handle didn't appear in the vid

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,904

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •