Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58

Thread: In the need of a few good Betatesters.

  1. #1

    In the need of a few good Betatesters.

    Hi there.
    Over the last 6 months or so I have been working on something in conjunction with some very good people who are LightWave friendly if not advocates of the product in their own way. The results of our efforts are almost ready but I need to get a few good beta testers who will be willing to sign NDAs for the testing period which will run until approximately, Oct. 1st. Initial testing starts tomorrow with a small select group of people. I need to expand that group to ensure we have a good sampling of users spread out across the world.

    You must have a legit copy of LightWave3D 2015.x, 2018+ or 2019.x to participate.
    If interested, please contact me over skype: djlithium(at)hotmail.com or emeowl me - kat(at)liberty3d.com
    3rd party plug-in developers and even a few LWG developers (if you can/allowed, it's good idea) are encouraged to participate as well. I have been reaching out to many of you over the last few hours via PM, so if you see this, please check your PM and contact me for further information. This is very important and we need your participation as well.

    Thank you.

    Kat
    DJ Lithium | KAT! =^..^=

    Black Tiger Recordings
    http://www.blacktigerrecordings.com
    Founder and Citizen of Liberty3d.com
    www.liberty3d.com

  2. #2
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,173
    Unfortunately, I don't have time to test anything new right now, but I'm intrigued. Best of luck on whatever it is, Kat!

  3. #3
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,300
    Render Engine???
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  4. #4
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    910
    Only 5 days for beta testing?
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  5. #5
    Still...Absolute Amateur scallahan1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Salem, NH
    Posts
    175
    Hmm, this sounds interesting.

  6. #6
    Slightly behind schedule due to some external factors (MacOSx 64bit deadline being one of them). We should have beta builds of both Win64 and MacOS for 64bit very shortly. It was supposed to happen friday, but it looks like Monday , possibly Tuesday now at the earliest. We need to run one more internal test with "Hyperion" (I will explain later what that is), on our own as a result and then can begin with the closed beta group. While I will be including much more information regarding this in an initial email once we are ready to deploy for the closed testing round, be prepared to do Skype calls with me one on one with video screen sharing so I can show you how to do things while you show me how it works for you, in real-time so I can trouble shoot, make notes for the engineers and possibly bring them into the conversation with us to address any issues that arise, etc etc, as well as your suggestions. All of this is being done to make it the best that it can be while planning out future moves in terms of development immediately and long term.
    Phase One of what we are doing will follow immediately once the beta testing round completes. Phase two is planned out and largely ready to be implemented, that phase will be very much transparent to the user, but phase one needs to be complete and thus critical to make sure phase two rolls nicely and then right into Phase Three which is where things get really, really interesting.
    DJ Lithium | KAT! =^..^=

    Black Tiger Recordings
    http://www.blacktigerrecordings.com
    Founder and Citizen of Liberty3d.com
    www.liberty3d.com

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    570
    Wasn't Hyperion the Pixar render?
    Last edited by Asticles; 09-29-2019 at 01:58 PM.
    English is not my native language so please be patient.

    Salvador Ureņa
    http://urenasalvador.wixsite.com/portfolio

  8. #8
    Still...Absolute Amateur scallahan1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Salem, NH
    Posts
    175
    Stop teasing us...we're drooling.

  9. #9
    No. Hyperion is an internal testing cluster. It's named after what at the time was believed to be the tallest tree in North America in the Redwood forest I believe discovered recently in terms of our modern history but is at least 1500 years old.

    With respect to what you will be testing, that name has some meaning to me and some others out there in the world but you can find out about that later.
    I personally picked it because it sound like a more awesome centurion. Ok sure... but also because after the forest around it burned, fell to disease, corruption or cut down by being closer to somewhere that would have resulted in it being hauled off to make cheap furniture, due to its age, its height its width, out in the middle of nowhere, allowed it to survive all that until being discovered after a recent fire, decimated everything else around it that was old by human standards many times, long before.

    It's representative of LightWave3D, the community and my commitment to both. But it does kind of look like a Cylon. God.. cylons.. .don't get me started...BSG reboot and all... after discovery and picard going to non-LW houses, you would think we could get Galactica huh?
    DJ Lithium | KAT! =^..^=

    Black Tiger Recordings
    http://www.blacktigerrecordings.com
    Founder and Citizen of Liberty3d.com
    www.liberty3d.com

  10. #10
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,300
    https://www.space.com/nbcu-s-new-bat...-era-show.html
    shame, as it seems to be in the same universe rather than a re-re-boot
    Hyperion, Babylon 5?
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  11. #11
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    910
    Disney's Hyperion Renderer is named after a street where Disney set up shop. Lacking creativity, the "Hyperion" name appears in many Disney properties (Hyperion Books, etc). I don't think it will clash with whatever is happening here.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  12. #12
    It's just a name, but it represents much more.
    DJ Lithium | KAT! =^..^=

    Black Tiger Recordings
    http://www.blacktigerrecordings.com
    Founder and Citizen of Liberty3d.com
    www.liberty3d.com

  13. #13
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    15,345
    Quote Originally Posted by djlithium View Post
    It's just a name, but it represents much more.
    Oh..I know that fellow, the titans must unite

    Havenīt read the scifi novel though, which it also can refer to.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    570
    The Shrike is coming!
    English is not my native language so please be patient.

    Salvador Ureņa
    http://urenasalvador.wixsite.com/portfolio

  15. #15
    As of this moment, I have started emailing out the Beta testing agreements in PDF form for those who emailed me and expressed interest. For those of you who want to get in on the action, please do so now by emailing kat(at)Liberty3d.com (fix for proper mail linkage, just trying to keep from getting spammed by bots which are everywhere these days). Please send them back as soon as you receive them. Our initial documentation isn't entirely complete yet as we have one more build to push out tomorrow that will do pretty much everything automatically for installation where as right now there are a few things that would require a user to do manually before hand. However for someone who wanted to give it a go, I can provide instructions on that over skype. Speaking of which...

    I will be starting a skype chat for one on one and group notifications. I'm djlithium on skype. Please add me and send me a message to be pulled into that group.

    Cheers!
    DJ Lithium | KAT! =^..^=

    Black Tiger Recordings
    http://www.blacktigerrecordings.com
    Founder and Citizen of Liberty3d.com
    www.liberty3d.com

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •