Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Portal Lights question

Portal Lights question

In short, can Portal Lights use Cast Shadows?

I've been working on an interior set & think this is a good candidate to use Portal Lights. Went the Wiki, read the page & got the sample scenes. I start with the Teapots_PortalOFF & read the notes then moved on to the Teapots_PortalON scene. At first it looks normal & I select the Portal Light & Properties panel. I enabled the cast shadows & went back to the Basic tab. If you now toggle Portal, the scene goes black.

It's the Cast Shadows option. Enabled, scene goes black & renders black.

Since I've never worked with them before, is this bug or feature? I am using 2019.1.3.
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

Yes - Portal lights cast shadows. Don't forget to use the dropdown to troubleshoot renders.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Portal.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	1.33 MB 
ID:	145996
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

http://www.sauder.com

But do you use the Enable in the Shadows Tab for the Portal light? That's the question.

They seem to work w/o it so wondering if they're taking that info from the enviro light and that carries over to the Portal. So if Shadows then gets enabled in the Portal properties, is it sort of triple-double-daring the situation & getting everything confused? That make any sense?

Similar situation to the Primitive lights when taking the color from the objects surface, where it's multiplicative rather than additive.

Oh, I've been using the Buffers view.

Problem area I'm having is in the Indirect Diffusion actually, so ya the GI contribution. I'm cheating a bit now & adding some motivated ies lights; Arri L-7's actually.

did you turn off shadow options for the glass object in render properties, just a thought