Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Transferring weights from one mesh to another

  1. #1

    Transferring weights from one mesh to another

    Is there a built in method of transferring weights from one object to another different object in Modeler?

    I want to transfer my weights from a figure onto clothing..easier than eyeballing it.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Thanks. Weighter 2 looks promising..but looks like it was for an older version of LW.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  4. #4
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,898
    If there would be "built-in method" we (developers) would not have to make our own methods..

    I made VMapManager. It's part of TrueArt's Modeling Pack
    http://modelingpack.trueart.eu
    VMapManager allows user to export vmap (any kind) to image file e.g. PNG/JPG. It can be loaded to 3rd party 3D app or 3D game engine also.
    It just needs UV map to be generated.
    Then on 2nd target object, if you have the same UV as initial object, you can load your vmap or weight map onto it.
    It could be used as a way to bake weight maps, or bake vmaps.
    Last edited by Sensei; 09-14-2019 at 03:20 PM.

  5. #5
    That looks cool..and useful..but none of the objects in question have the same uv's.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  6. #6
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,898
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    That looks cool..and useful..but none of the objects in question have the same uv's.
    In LW you can have "infinite" amount of UVs.. you just have to make it on target object..

    Weight maps can be transferred from object to object, automatically, by just a few criterion, such as position of vertex (the closest the most accurate), UV coordinate closeness, or index of vertex.
    (some special alternatives could be invented for proprietary stuff)
    Last edited by Sensei; 09-14-2019 at 04:07 PM.

  7. #7
    Well, its mostly things I bring in from Marvelous Designer..so uv'ing to be the same, etc is a bit too much work.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  8. #8
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,519
    Another tool is ODTools 2019's vmap transfer tool.

    Or, you can save it out as LWO2, load it into LW 2015, and use the transfer BGWeightmap plugin...
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  9. #9
    Thanks, I'll check that ODTools thing.... I didnt know that 2015 had a transfer weight plugin..i'll look at that too.

    Weighter, still looks promising, I just spent a buncha money, so I cant get it yet.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  10. #10
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,519
    The DrainBGWeightmap plugin is a 3rd party plugin, I think it's in the plugin DB.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  11. #11
    Ahh ok.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  12. #12
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,519
    It's also 32 Bit, so it only works with 2015.3 and previous.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cumbria UK
    Posts
    419
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryslin View Post
    It's also 32 Bit, so it only works with 2015.3 and previous.
    - Damn shame it's not 64bit. It looks really useful. I hardly ever transfer weights between meshes, so I can't justify buying one of the commercial options.

  14. #14
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,519
    I've done it often enough to justify the expense. If you already have ODTools20119 though, you've got all you need.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cumbria UK
    Posts
    419
    I have discovered an alternative method to transfer weight maps.

    Basically the object with the weight map has its colour texture set to show the weight map as rgb, so it can be baked into the other object.
    Once done, this greyscale representation of the weightmap is turned into an actual weightmap using textured point.

    Not exactly a one click solution, but it works.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •