Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 159

Thread: Cheaper (or faster?) CPUs are coming

  1. #16
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,280
    Quote Originally Posted by Lito View Post
    I have done that benchmark previously in another thread, so I added it here and a new one I did this morning:

    LW2015.3 x64 - BenchmarkMarbles.lws (included w/ LW 2015 content file and untouched)
    System: Win 10 x64 1803 ; AMD Threadripper 1950x OC to 3.7ghz ; 64GB RAM @3066mhz ; Nvidia 1080Ti

    The second image was done previously when I was still running a AIO cooler on my threadripper. Those coolers ended up being defective so I switched to a air cooler so I dropped my OC from 4Ghz to 3.7Ghz. With LW2015 the difference was about a minute per frame. To be fair though, I was downloading files and browsing the web while I was benchmarking but that should have negligible impact on the results. Also this is a first gen Threadripper, so results will be faster with a 2950x and probably significantly faster with the upcoming 3rd gen threadripper with the much improved IPC (which I most likely will upgrade to since I can just drop it into my current motherboard if AMD doesn't change their socket )

    BTW, I don't think I have seen any of your benchmark times for your particular rig. What are your render times with this benchmark?
    I posted in the marbles thread some time ago, with turbo off I had a time of 17 mins, with it back on I got that down to 14 mins, so doesn't that start to prove my point? I have an intel 36 thread, how are the 4 extra threads allowing me to render over twice as fast unless there is a serious issue with LW and TR? according to the link to cinebench there should be only about a 400 point difference, but the real world result is more like a 2000 point difference
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  2. #17

    I have an intel 36 thread
    nice, but what specs are those ?
    the specs (intel 5960X) in your signature should be removed/fixed.

    not saying it can't be, but it is very difficult to tell without knowing your computer specifications.
    cpu type / motherboard type / ram  (minimum)


    ---------------

    if you indeed are running Cinebench R15 with 5000 points on a 7980xe,

    then i'd say that either the C R15 score at the webpage is very-very wrong, or you are testing it the wrong way somehow.

    if they made a mistake, this also means that most likely all top-level intel CPUs on that page has the wrong score.


    --- how can it be that your intel 7980xe ($2000) has a better score than intel 8180M ($3500)
    https://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/cpu_be...5_multi_core-8

    again, not saying that ain't so, and not sure what the cause could be.
    Last edited by erikals; 09-07-2019 at 09:24 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  3. #18
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,280
    well I just re ran the test as my post in the marbles thread is almost a year and a half ago and since then has been bios (I had the mobo very early in its cycle) and major OS upgrades and I ran the test without turbo back then, and...…. what the! 10 mins!!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	marbles.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	336.6 KB 
ID:	145912

    one thing that might be playing a part here, note my scene ram usage, its only 10.5 M where as litos is 580 M, is there maybe a bad leak on the AMD?
    Last edited by rustythe1; 09-07-2019 at 09:24 AM.
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  4. #19

    hm, i notice your render has more noise than other LWbenchmark renders
    for example, https://forums.newtek.com/attachment...2&d=1506951330
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  5. #20

    --- how can it be that your intel 7980xe ($2000) has a better score than intel 8180M ($3500)
    ...in regards to this, it looks like you ran the Cr20 test and not the Cr15 test ?

    would make sense, since 5000 points in r15 is not the same as 5000 points in r20.


    ----------

    so, AMD for the win.

    however, i've noticed lately that AMD is much more ahead on Mid/High-end CPUs, and a bit less ahead at TopLevel CPUs.

    if i were you i'd definitely keep the 7980xe, no doubt it is still kicking.

    but as for AMD, they're ahead > Overall.
    Last edited by erikals; 09-07-2019 at 09:56 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #21
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,280
    no that was the r15, this is the r20, as you can see even that one is way higher than what they list on their site, 9616 when it should be down near 5000, like I said something is off
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cinebench2.JPG 
Views:	33 
Size:	160.9 KB 
ID:	145913
    that's getting close to the 2990 score according to your link
    the noise, just seems to be in the white around the out of focus so think its just the compression on the screen grab and the smaller window on 4k screen, shouldn't be any noise with 192 passes!
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  7. #22

    no, there is more noise in the LW render you have. it is not the same settings. 100%.
    https://i.imgur.com/KMam3Lt.gif

    as for Cinebench r15 / r20, strange. i have no idea.  
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  8. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBeckwith View Post
    I have always been facinated with the concept of a render farm. If you do have a render farm over a network does each computer work on separate frame of an animation or can the whole render farm work on the exact same image, say 10 computers working on the same 1 image?
    I use the more recently added NRC (network render controller) to manage Lightwave renders over multiple computers. It is still less than user friendly to set up, but I basically just pull up a screen, add the scene I want all my computers to work on, and let them all crunch away at renders. Typically, I use the Lightwave render engine for visual effects projects because more often than not it ends up being several times faster than Octane (even with 3x 1080 TIs + 1x 780TI). The main reason being that in simpler scenes meant for compositing, all that brute force GI tends to go to waste and more time is spent waiting for the GPU to receive the information it needs from cpu/ram than is spent actually rendering.
    Professional-level 3d training: Ryan's Lightwave Learning
    Plugin Developer: RR Tools for Lightwave

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    795
    For a render farm can cpus be happily mixed and matched, eg Intel and Amd ? What is more important - number of cores or cpu "clock speed" (or both) ?

  10. #25

    yep.  

    mix away...  
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ghana West Africa
    Posts
    849
    Quote Originally Posted by rustythe1 View Post
    no that was the r15, this is the r20, as you can see even that one is way higher than what they list on their site, 9616 when it should be down near 5000, like I said something is off
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cinebench2.JPG 
Views:	33 
Size:	160.9 KB 
ID:	145913
    that's getting close to the 2990 score according to your link
    the noise, just seems to be in the white around the out of focus so think its just the compression on the screen grab and the smaller window on 4k screen, shouldn't be any noise with 192 passes!
    Did you alter the scene?
    The quality is definitely worse.

  12. #27
    Either way, you're paying a very inflated $2,000 for that Intel processor for only 30% more speed than that $500 AMD processor (1950x) is giving. Doesn't seem like a very good deal.

  13. #28

    the Ryzen 9 3900X is incredible, especially considering the cheap motherboards.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  14. #29
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,280
    Quote Originally Posted by hrgiger View Post
    Either way, you're paying a very inflated $2,000 for that Intel processor for only 30% more speed than that $500 AMD processor (1950x) is giving. Doesn't seem like a very good deal.
    Where is the 30% from, if both lito and beevee rendered in 33 mins on 1950 and I did it in 14 originally that's over 100% as its over twice as fast, so like having two 1950s?
    I still think most the noise is from windows snip, but maybe I have accidently changed a setting that isn't obvious as shaving nearly 30% of render seems a bit excessive, the main settings seem correct as most are listed in the render window and I assume the biggest contributor is the AA passes as all the other settings should be rendered in the first pass, so any setting that didn't affect aa should be negligible.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	noise.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	273.3 KB 
ID:	145916
    noise from windows snip,
    either way even my original post a year and a half ago with no turbo showed it was almost twice as fast, and the cinebench scores back that up, so doesn't that say the intel is more cost effective? at least from a Lightwave point of view.
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  15. #30

    and I did it in 14
    no, as we saw, you used different settings, with more noise.
    if the snip is that bad, please post the original render.
    Last edited by erikals; 09-08-2019 at 04:32 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •