Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sending Hotspots to Skype Remote Talent

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    9

    Sending Hotspots to Skype Remote Talent

    Hello,

    We have both a TC-1 and a VS4000 talkshow. I was wondering if there was a way to send hotspots to remote talent so they could trigger macros on the system (such as advancing graphics and such). I can't seem to figure out how to send the overlay from the preview window to a Skype caller.

    Any ideas?

    Thx!

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    318
    I use the skype channel built into the TC1 but all that can be sent back to the talent is program. If the VS 4000 takes in an SDI return feed instead of program NDI you could in theory make a DSK overlay that shows the hot spots and turn that on and only show it to the people on skype maybe?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    9
    Hello, yeah that's basically what we set up. FYI it can also work with the internal skype channels as well. We changed our default recording mix to mix 2. (The default channels see mix 1 only.) That way we can change what the remote talent sees and record whatever we want on the 2nd Mix.

  4. #4
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,714
    As the OP figured out we don't return program to the caller, we return whatever is assigned to Mix 1 to the caller.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    318
    Oh really? That is awesome news, I recall it being asked about to be made assignable in the forums but didn't know that was done. Will give this a shot. I can work with the other mixes

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,397
    Mix 1 is used for TriCaster's internal SkypeTX returns, but we're discussing VS4000 here, aren't we? You can freely select any of the 4 mixes in the TalkShow's return setup, as I recall.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    9
    Hey SBowie, we do have a VS4000 and do use it sometimes. For most of our calls we just use the internal skype channels. The issue remains that I can't seem to find a way to send the hotspot overlays back to the remote talent so that they can trigger macros on the TC-1. As per the thread above, I create graphics and do an overlay on the return video back to talent, but it is kind of a pain. I would also be happy if there was some way I could give Skype talent the ability to use live panel. That would be the best (and most reliable) way to handle it. Perhaps this could be a "feature request."

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,397
    I'm no network wizard, but being able to send LivePanel outside the LAN would seem to be something that might be possible (with appropriate measures for security). That might be just a matter of port forwarding? Beuhler? Anyone?

    Setting that aside, I guess you're saying that if the remote talent could see themselves with a hotspot overlay on the video your return to them, they would have visible targets to aim for. Assuming this could be done (and obviously that your remote talent is against a keyable backdrop), I'm not really 100% sure I'd see it as the ideal way for a remote user to trigger macros, though. It would seem easier and more reliable to me to work out a mechanism to let them could trigger shortcuts directly from their location using shortcuts sent using a TCP/IP or HTTP connection to the TriCaster host. In the pre-Builder days, I added a custom webpage (and I suck at this stuff) to those served by TriCaster to the LAN for just that purpose. Piping something like that to the outside world doesn't seem like it should be a Herculean chore ... and then you could send a more typical return to the remote talent.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •