Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: New Computer, Obsolete Program

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8

    New Computer, Obsolete Program

    So, let me begin by saying that I do know and understand that Lightwave 9.6 is not supported under Winders 10. And yet...

    I acquired my copy of LightWave 9.6.1 on or about Halloween, 2010. At the time, I had a Mac G5, and I got moderately proficient with Modeler on it. Alas, life happened, and after a fairly short period of time, I no longer had hardware which would run LightWave. That recently changed, and now I have an Intel-based box with Winders 10 Home edition on. Ah-ha! I thought, I can load LightWave on that and drok around with it again!

    So I logged on to my account on LightWave3d.com, found the Winders installer, and installed. Started it up, and... straight to discovery mode. Looked around, found the Liberty3d video on how to fix that. configure unset / configure set didn't work on my machine, even running as administrator. Poked around in the Firewall configurations, found how to let hub, modeler and layout through. Did that. Started up. Discovery mode.

    Went and found the license key in my LightWave3d.com account, placed it in the appropriate directory. Started up, and... hardware key not found. Discovery mode. Verified the dongle was in the USB port, and that its little green light was on. It was.

    At this point, I've been chasing this in circles for three frakin' days, and I'm kind of frustrated. So if anyone... anyone out there has any thoughts on things which I might not have tried to get 9.6.1 to run under Winders 10 Home, I would be deeply grateful if you would share those thoughts.

    C. J Tupper
    Frustrated Artist

  2. #2
    Crazy question but did you installed Safenet Dongle drivers ? Is the dongle recognized properly in Windows device manager ?

    This:
    http://prntscr.com/oqu5i5
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  3. #3
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    862
    I can run older versions of LW (4 and 7) in Win10. I believe I did this by going to the safenet/rainbow web site and grabbing a newer sentinel installer than what shipped with the older LW. Or you might use the sentinel installer that may be bundled in a trial of a current LW release.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks, fellows. It looks like Lewis has correctly diagnosed the problem -- the USB Superpro is showing under "other devices" and reports that it has no drivers. So... delving into that. Trying Raymond's suggestion. I'll let y'all know if anything works out.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks, fellows.

    Lewis correctly diagnosed the problem, and Raymond gave the solution. I downloaded the newest Sentinel installer from rainbow.com, installed it, rebooted, and now the Safenet USB shows up in the right place in the device manager.

    ... but I'm back to "License Key File Not Found," though I have double-checked that License.Key (downloaded from the afore-mentioned lightwave3d.com site) is in the same directory as the executables. Product lock 19922, Discovery Edition.

    Double-checked that modeler, layout, and hub all have permission to pass through the firewall. They do.

    So... any other suggestions?

  6. #6
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,370
    You say you where on a G5 with 9.6.1.
    Is your license key for mac only, if I recall you need a different key for windows.
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    I wondered about that, Mark, but when I try to register a product from LightWave3d.com and put in the serial number for my installation, it tells me that product has already been registered.

  8. #8
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,067
    The license should live here:

    C:\Users\[username]\.NewTek\LightWave\[version]\licenses\LICENSE.LWK

    That's how it's been since at least 11. I no longer have 9 installed on this machine, but I'm reasonably confident that it will be the same there.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    The license should live here:

    C:\Users\[username]\.NewTek\LightWave\[version]\licenses\LICENSE.LWK

    Alas. The version number is not a separate directory, and I don't find a licenses directory anywhere. I do note, though, that the file I download from Lightwave3d.com is LICENSE.KEY rather than .LWK; I tried just changing the extension, but that availed me naught. I'm wondering if I should contact Customer Support and get them to generate me a key file for winders? Is that an appropriate step, here, or am I just barking at the branches?

  10. #10
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,511
    There are a bunch of differences between how licensing worked with 9.6.1 and more recent LW versions -- they used different key files and different config dirs in v9 versus modern LW. Also, there were distinctly different Mac32 and Mac64/Windows keys for v9 (and they came from the old Newtek LW registration site at https://register.newtek.com, not the new lightwave3d.com site you're using).

    I've got installs going back to 9.3.1 and given proper driver installs, animal sacrifices, etc. they all still more or less work. MacOS here, but same should be as possible on Windows.
    Last edited by jwiede; 08-13-2019 at 11:01 AM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Regina, Canada
    Posts
    298
    Try putting the license.key file in this folder.

    C:\Program Files\NewTek\LightWave 3D 9\Programs

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by MicroMouse View Post
    Try putting the license.key file in this folder.

    C:\Program Files\NewTek\LightWave 3D 9\Programs
    Thank you, MM... that's where I've had it.






    Charlie
    Newb in Clownshoes

  13. #13
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,370
    Just throwing it out there......you could upgrade to 2019 for $395 before the 16th August.
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Holbrook, AZ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Markc View Post
    Just throwing it out there......you could upgrade to 2019 for $395 before the 16th August.
    Alas, Mark... that would require having nearly four hundred clams before the middle of the month and I? Don't.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Regina, Canada
    Posts
    298
    My computer has Windows 10 Pro Version 1903

    SafeNet Driver
    Date: 4/17/2007
    Version: 7.4.0.0

    I had zero problems installing LightWave 9.6.1 about 2 years ago.

    With the latest SafeNet driver installed, you could try reinstalling LightWave again if you haven't already done that. Just suggesting that as I can't think of anything else to try.

    Wayne

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •