Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: animating smoke leaking in from behind a door

animating smoke leaking in from behind a door

Need some suggestions. I'd like to create a openvdb smoke simulation of smoke leaking out of the cracks around the top edge of a closed door. I need to bring the sim into Keyshow when done. I've never done anything like this before so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne

Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Heim View Post
    Need some suggestions. I'd like to create a openvdb smoke simulation of smoke leaking out of the cracks around the top edge of a closed door. I need to bring the sim into Keyshow when done. I've never done anything like this before so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne
    If it is a necessity to learn the VDB tools in lightwave..ok, but be aware, the Gas solver and vdb tools are slow to simulate and hard to get visual feedback in openGL, as well as to direct smoke flow and collisions etc.
    Otherwise I would advise to do it in blender, select your smoke flow object, hit spacebar and write quicksmoke..Tada you got a smoke going on, place your wall and door in the scene and make that a smoke object/collision object.
    change cache from point to vdb, load the vdb files in to keyshot and see if that works.

Didnīt know keyshot (not keyshow right?) had vdb, but checked it just recently..though the rendering seems slow, either the presenter is showcasing it badly, or having a slow computer.

Have a look.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VDB_Doorway.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	266.1 KB 
ID:	145387

You will want to fiddle around with it and then save it out, before you incorporate it into your final scene.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Quote Originally Posted by XswampyX View Post
    Have a look.

You will want to fiddle around with it and then save it out, before you incorporate it into your final scene.
    Thanks! I'll take a look.

Wayne