Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TC-1 Skype Channels

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    14

    TC-1 Skype Channels

    Hello,

    I know the TC-1 comes/ships with two Skype TX channels for remote guests. Is there any way to expand the number of channels supported on the TC-1 without purchasing another Talkshow unit like the VS-100/4000?

  2. #2
    Technical Account Manager - Channel Support
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,707
    Sorry, No the TC1 only supports 2 channels of Skype TX.
    Zane Condren
    Product and Vertical Market Manager - Digital Broadcast
    NewTek Inc.
    new.tk/call

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Zane Condren View Post
    Sorry, No the TC1 only supports 2 channels of Skype TX.
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,376
    Well, one could probably jury-rig another channel using Skype's native NDI support and NDI virtual input ... but it wouldn't really be as good a solution.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    519
    Actually that Skype via NDI is what we use all the time and works quite well. The most significant issue is creating a mix minus so the audio won't fold back to the phone caller. We have an exteral (and quite sophisticated) audio board and do it through that along with the aux outs of the TriCaster.

    All you need otherwise is a spare computer (and it doesn't even need to be particularly powerful).

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,376
    Quote Originally Posted by fgolman View Post
    Actually that Skype via NDI is what we use all the time and works quite well.
    I appreciate that, Fritz; but I do think SkypeTX and a TalkShow have their advantages.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    519
    No doubt it does but we don't have a budget for a TalkShow unit at this time.

    Obviously, the multiple channels of the VS4000 along with a lot more sophisticated call controls are great. And, all in one nice little package to boot!

    Fritz

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,376
    Aye, mate, I'm no criticizing thrift - merely defending my remark.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    14

    Mix Minus

    Quote Originally Posted by fgolman View Post
    No doubt it does but we don't have a budget for a TalkShow unit at this time.

    Obviously, the multiple channels of the VS4000 along with a lot more sophisticated call controls are great. And, all in one nice little package to boot!

    Fritz
    Curious, if I tried to add a channel using Skype via NDI, the audio routing would have to be handle externally as you said for the mix-minus. How many input/output channels are you using on your audio board to accomplish this?

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,376
    Quote Originally Posted by mlambr01 View Post
    Curious, if I tried to add a channel using Skype via NDI, the audio routing would have to be handle externally as you said for the mix-minus. How many input/output channels are you using on your audio board to accomplish this?
    This is not necessarily so. It's quite a simple matter to support the mix minus requirements of several VS-4000 systems using TriCaster's native Audio Mixer. I think you could probably do something similar with the basic Skype application and NDI Virtual Input.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    519
    Although we use an external mixer to do the mix minus, that is not an absolute requirement. With the multiple channels in the TriCaster for routing, you should be able to do that internally as well.

    I've got one audio channel on the board set up for the Skype output and one program bus on the board for the mix minus return. I use one aux output on the TriCaster for forwarding from Skype. And one audio input on the TriCaster for the mix minus forwarding to Skype. If my audio were all NDI then I wouldn't need either of those but our board is currently analog audio for this.
    Last edited by fgolman; 07-02-2019 at 07:08 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •