Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: program and preview buttons on screen are all white now?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    northern CA
    Posts
    7

    program and preview buttons on screen are all white now?

    This is strange... all the labeling went away after installing the latest update on a couple different machines, is that by design?

    Or am I (likely) doing something stupid?

  2. #2
    Update your nVidia driver to the latest version.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    northern CA
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    Update your nVidia driver to the latest version.
    Wait, so maybe I'm NOT doing something stupid!?

    Thanks!

    It has happened on every single tricaster I updated which is interesting...

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    505
    Same thing I had.

    Corrected with very latest drivers.

    You don't need to install the whole package, just the basic driver.

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    1

    Same proiblem all live abd preview buttons are white

    Quote Originally Posted by mfassett View Post
    This is strange... all the labeling went away after installing the latest update on a couple different machines, is that by design?

    Or am I (likely) doing something stupid?
    Followed advice, the Nvidia dirvers are up to date. Button only work on control surface, keyboard won;t work properly.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    13
    I had the same issues and updated my video card drivers and all seem to be working well. I'm just curious, is there a reason this stuff can't be automated (video card drivers updating) when you patch in general? When I'm on my normal desktop I run programs like G Force Experience to see when the new drivers come out but since third party software is not recommended it seems there is no way of knowing there is a new driver than remembering to go to the website and check.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    65
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    Update your nVidia driver to the latest version.
    I just did this and it didn't fix it. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by slgshane View Post
    I just did this and it didn't fix it. Any ideas?
    Can you list what driver version your nVidia shows up as? Also what version TriCaster software do you have installed? Please list version numbers for these.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    I don't suppose you created a custom backup drive image before upgrading? Assuming not, you might need to do a TriCaster Restore operation, update the nVidia driver and try the update again. If you do this, backup any important custom content that you keep on your c drive first.

    Or - install your previous version again, then upgrade later (It's a pretty bad idea to upgrade the day before an important gig. Even if everything goes perfectly, you need time to learn the new version).
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    I was hesitant to update after reading about the NVIDIA driver situation since my current version was 180122C. I went into control panel and checked to update the NVIDIA driver but the updater said I was running the best driver for the GT550Ti, so I ran the update to 190506. Sure enough, the buttons go white when selected. Now what? (and yes, I did an image backup, but I want the newer firmware if possible.)
    Last edited by bbailey; 06-27-2019 at 10:56 AM.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  11. #11
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    My current NVIDIA driver for my GTX550Ti is 8.17.12.8562.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  12. #12
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    I could have sworn I saw a link to the NVIDIA driver on yesterday's forum. But I no longer see it. On my TriCaster Explorer browser I'm told the browser is too old to be used for searching for the driver.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  13. #13
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    Looks as if I can download and save the driver to a thumbdrive on my other Windows 7 computer but because it uses an NVIDIA GeForce 9500 card, I'm not sure the correct driver is downloading as it doesn't list the driver number/version.
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,602
    Graphics driver updates are pretty easy and should not be scary. Look in Windows and see which video card is in your particular TriCaster. For Mini, usually the GT740, can't speak for other models.

    Go to https://www.geforce.com/drivers

    Locate your video card from the list, and also select the OS which for most users is Windows 7 64-bit (TC1, 410 Plus, and latest shipping Mini units will have Windows 10).

    Download driver. Can be done on TriCaster, or another computer and move file to TC. RUN the installer .exe file, and select the basic installation versus the "GeForce Experience". The installer should uninstall old driver first, really just run the one file and it takes care of itself.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  15. #15
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    I tried working from my TriCaster 860 but the Internet Explorer is Explorer 8 and won't work. I even tried to update to explorer 11 but no go. I installed Mozilla Firefox and downloaded the gaming version of my GTX 550Ti card but can't find it on my TriCaster in order to install it. By clicking "Download" in the NVIDIA download section, I wasn't able to tell it where I wanted it downloaded. This is nuts!
    Tricaster 860 and CS
    3Play 330 and CS

    Sony PMW-EX3
    5-Sony HXR-NX5
    Sony Z1-U
    FCP7 & FCPX NLEs
    2-AJA KI PROs
    BM-ATEM 1ME Production Studio
    BM-HyperDeck Shuttle recorder

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •