Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Twinmotion - Free 'till November

  1. #1
    areté adk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,505

    Twinmotion - Free 'till November

    Just a heads up if anyone wants to try (and keep) a free version of Twinmotion, which has just been acquired by Epic.

    "Twinmotion will be a paid-for product in November 2019. Until then, download it for free as an early adopter and keep it for free forever."

    https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/twinmotion/


    adk.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,844
    thanks for the heads up ADK

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    Testing it. Pretty neat piece of software.

  5. #5
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    Here is my first try with twin motion on my nMP.


  6. #6
    it's quite neat. The presets make this software great. Also the preview and object placing system are very user friendly.
    www.bytehawk.net

    1 : Imac 27’ I7 mid 2017 8Gb ram

  7. #7
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    998
    Thanks! Never heard of it before. This will definitely help me with my application to a small arch viz studio !
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  8. #8
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    Yeah, but my nMP definitely struggle with it, my D500 gpus are too old. I have either to buy a PC for my 3D work or buy an eGPU... switching from Mac to PC seems the wisest though, even if I keep my Mac for all video and audio editing.
    As for TwinMotion, some annoying quirks in the UI, but overall, a very simple learning curve and splendid renders. I wish we could add custom animated characters.

  9. #9
    Really cool! Having trouble figuring out how to download in the launcher though, Do you have to install UnReal Engine first? I guess I'll find out when it finishes installing.

    Edit: Oh wait I just realized there's a new tab in the launcher across the top.
    Last edited by Philbert; 05-20-2019 at 09:10 PM.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  10. #10
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    998
    I hope they add RT support for Twin Motion as was mentioned earlier, before the paid upgrade in november.
    (Q/A where it was discussed https://aecmag.com/component/content...ith-twinmotion )

    Second on my list is import camera animation. Handheld/more organic camera moves would add so much to an animated sequence!
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  11. #11
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    Yup.
    Or Being able to open a TM project in Unreal and synchronize some additional objects/animations from Lightwave through the LW/Unreal bridge would be a dream for me.

  12. #12
    there is no sanctuary....
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI USA
    Posts
    471
    Got it installed, loaded up an fbx file, very cool walking around the model like that. The fbx came up with no textures though, do they need to be a certain format or location?
    Bill Carey

    I7 6700K 4.0 ghz
    Win10 Pro 64bit
    32gig Ram
    Nvidia GTX 980 4 gb 417.71
    LW 2019.1 x64
    Space Navigator

  13. #13
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    I usually export my fbx from LW in the same folder as the textures. Bit even like that, I have to leas at least norml maps manually in TM.

  14. #14
    there is no sanctuary....
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI USA
    Posts
    471
    Thanks, have to spend more time with it, come on 3 day weekend!
    Bill Carey

    I7 6700K 4.0 ghz
    Win10 Pro 64bit
    32gig Ram
    Nvidia GTX 980 4 gb 417.71
    LW 2019.1 x64
    Space Navigator

  15. #15
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,846
    Sorry for the typos. Typing from a smartphone is such a pain.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •