Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VMC 16 and 44

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Palo Alto
    Posts
    11

    VMC 16 and 44

    A few questions:

    1. Is this pure software on any hardware?
    2. Is it 100% cloud or local executable or both?
    3. Can a Mac be the base hardware?
    4. When will it be available?
    5. What will the price be?
    6. Can subscriptions be fractional - i.e, bu the day, week, month etc, or only annual?
    7. Is there any compromise choosing these as opposed to the Hardware VMC1?
    8. is the manual available yet?

  2. #2
    I'll answer what I know at this point.

    1. It is all software, NDI in and NDI out. You can add a 2S or 4S control surface.
    2. It is deigned non-virtualized operation right now, but this if the first step in heading to virtualized/cloud. I'm not aware of anything stopping you from installing in these environments, but that configuration isn't supported.
    3. It runs on Windows 10 with an nVidia GPU.
    4. I don't have a release date, but I think it should be available soon.
    5. Contact your NewTek reseller or rep for pricing.
    6. Monthly is the smallest fraction.
    7. It is the same software capabilities as found in a VMC system (at least if you are comparing the VMC-44 option, the VMC-16 has fewer inputs and M/E's).
    8. Not a specific one, but the VMC manual is available for the software features.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Palo Alto
    Posts
    11

    Thank You

    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    I'll answer what I know at this point.

    1. It is all software, NDI in and NDI out. You can add a 2S or 4S control surface.
    2. It is deigned non-virtualized operation right now, but this if the first step in heading to virtualized/cloud. I'm not aware of anything stopping you from installing in these environments, but that configuration isn't supported.
    3. It runs on Windows 10 with an nVidia GPU.
    4. I don't have a release date, but I think it should be available soon.
    5. Contact your NewTek reseller or rep for pricing.
    6. Monthly is the smallest fraction.
    7. It is the same software capabilities as found in a VMC system (at least if you are comparing the VMC-44 option, the VMC-16 has fewer inputs and M/E's).
    8. Not a specific one, but the VMC manual is available for the software features.
    Appreciate your answers

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    108
    Where are these products? Googling gives me eg. this link (https://www.newtek.com/vmc/16/tech-specs/), but it redirects to the VMC1 pages.

    Has this something to do with the VizRT takeover? They are now offering 'Vectar' (the VMC1 in their colors), and they also seem to offer a smaller switcher. Are these the VMC16/44's?

  5. #5
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    645
    Just got asked to run one of these VMC1 boxes.... Not familiar.... I own a 860
    so wonder how much different the interface is.

    Looking at the NEWTEK site it says its an all software solution but then shows a box with the inputs in back... Assuming SDI?
    On a chat he said it was $40K. seems like a lot for an all software solution ???
    Slightly confused.
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 860AE Owner

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by edmellnik View Post
    Just got asked to run one of these VMC1 boxes.... Not familiar.... I own a 860
    so wonder how much different the interface is.

    Looking at the NEWTEK site it says its an all software solution but then shows a box with the inputs in back... Assuming SDI?
    On a chat he said it was $40K. seems like a lot for an all software solution ???
    Slightly confused.
    This is the VMC1 hardware. Operation wise, if your 860 is running Advanced Edition 3 software, you would find them very similar. The farther away from AE3 software, the more differences you will find. But even AE2 will be pretty similar.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  7. #7
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    645

    vmc1

    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    This is the VMC1 hardware. Operation wise, if your 860 is running Advanced Edition 3 software, you would find them very similar. The farther away from AE3 software, the more differences you will find. But even AE2 will be pretty similar.
    So there is a hardware and software version of vmc1???

    Guess I am out of luck since my 860 is still on AE1. Was not excited about all the stuff involved in updating like drivers for the graphics card etc.
    ANd happy with AE1 for my needs.

    Thanks for the info.
    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 860AE Owner

  8. #8
    At this point only the hardware VMC1 is available.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •