Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Facebook RTMPS May 1st 2019

  1. #1
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333

    Facebook RTMPS May 1st 2019

    So my question is, if we use the Stream Facebook plugin to authorize the TriCaster, is it already RTMPS?
    Also I believe the work around for anyone not using the Facebook stream plugin and instead use the RTMP and Stream ID on a custom stream preset, will not work anymore once they Facebook does this change?
    But really my question is, will we be ok to stream to Facebook once they do this?
    This is post from Facebook;
    On May 1st, 2019, the Real-time Messaging Protocol (RTMP) will be deprecated from the Live API, GoLive Dialog, and Publisher Pages. RTMPS (RTMP over a TLS/SSL connection) will continue to be supported.

    Thank you,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  2. #2
    On my VMC, the Facebook streaming connection has a 'Secure' checkbox. The info icon says it will stream over a TLS/SSL connection on port 443. It sounds like starting May 1st, you will need to check this box.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Ahhh yes I see.

    Thank you,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  4. #4
    Which probably means that we should have this option default to checked, or the option should just go away so you can't uncheck it, in future versions of software.

    Steve!?!
    Last edited by kanep; 04-03-2019 at 07:57 AM.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  5. #5
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Well if they are killing RTMP, should it be even an option?
    Steve?
    Could not resist Kane’s lead
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,532
    I hope that AE2 with the plugin fix is released out of beta in time for this problem.

    Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  7. #7
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Missed this post. Thanks Jose!
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  8. #8
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by kltv View Post
    I hope that AE2 with the plugin fix is released out of beta in time for this problem.

    Kris
    Agree
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    98
    We use the custom stream profile to stream to facebook for various reasons. Will this no longer work when it's RTMPS only?

    https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/...-Custom-preset

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,532
    Quote Originally Posted by dtweek View Post
    We use the custom stream profile to stream to facebook for various reasons. Will this no longer work when it's RTMPS only?

    https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/...-Custom-preset
    I don't think it will. I don't see a secure checkbox available there.

    Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,532
    If the checkbox isn't in the custom connection, you might still be able to do it with the legacy one. If that is available in TC1.

    https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/...GACY-STREAMING

    Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    314
    Pretty sure the streaming behind the scenes is ffmpeg which should read the rtmps of your url and do the right thing on a custom profile. Anyone got a moment to test?

  13. #13
    Registered User vdmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA, Southeast
    Posts
    27
    Ditto
    Quote Originally Posted by kltv View Post
    i hope that ae2 with the plugin fix is released out of beta in time for this problem.

    Kris

  14. #14
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    I don’t know if it will come to AE2. Don’t quote me but I think AE3 May be our sure way of being ready in time for Facebook cutoff date.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,532
    On the bright side, I think *fingers crossed* that the the custom connection is working fine with the secure box checked. My friend who is doing a weekly stream went ahead and let Facebook check the box on their side and using the custom connection she has still been able to do her show successfully for the last couple of weeks. Hopefully that will translate to success after May 1st. She's been using the custom connection on AE2 since Facebook broke the Facebook plugin in early February.

    Kris
    TriCasters: Mini, 410, 460, 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    Replay: 3Play 820
    CG: LiveText3 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •