Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anybody got SasLite?

  1. #1
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, CA
    Posts
    6,962

    Anybody got SasLite?

    I can't find it in my plug ins under the 32 bit version of 2015.
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  2. #2
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    15,588
    Quote Originally Posted by shrox View Post
    I can't find it in my plug ins under the 32 bit version of 2015.
    As I recall, I think it was removed due to certain rights issues with worley, ergo no more saslite since 2015.

  3. #3
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    967
    Should you try to load it from an older LW release, you may observe an error of "Plug-in SasLite of incorrect version".
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  4. #4
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, CA
    Posts
    6,962
    Well shoot, I've got an older project that needs it.
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  5. #5
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    967
    Still have LW 7 - 9 to install? I believe that was its compatibility.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    859
    Why did SasLite and Sasquatch fall from grace ? Did the developer simply stop or something else (I vaguely remember mention of some properties not interacting properly to render) ?

  7. #7
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,534
    There appears to have been a bit of a disagreement between Worley Labs and Newtek. This was mentioned, briefly, in some forum posts several years ago. Something about development resources...?

    Sasquatch remained usable up through 2015.3 and Windows 7. You had to uses the Windows version of Jovian Color picker, and set Lightwave to use the Windows color picker to correctly set up colors. However, with Win10, the tricks Ken Nign used to intercept the Windows Color picker broke.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    859
    Thanks. Is Jovian Color picker discintinued now ?

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLexx View Post
    Thanks. Is Jovian Color picker discintinued now ?
    It is the LW color picker now.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  10. #10
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,534
    In order to get it to work with Sasquatch, you had to use the stand alone version, not the version inside Lightwave. Which meant intercepting the Windows Color Picker call. I've got the stand alone, and the plugin version.

    If I'm remembering correctly, changes around 9.6 started the problem of not being able to set the colors in Sasquatch, and things went downhill after that. The last update to Sasquatch was the Licensing change in the 11 series.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •