Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Any Linuxpeople around?

  1. #1
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11

    Any Linuxpeople around?

    Tried the following system: OpenSuse, VmWare, Windows10 and Lightwave.
    Everything seems to work, until I do something.
    Created a small box, but can not move, rotate, zoom or anything. I'm getting 3 messages during the startup of the VM, but Lightwave is not using hardware acceleration, so what's the problem? Can anybody explain this for me?

    - svein-erik -
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	suse-vmware-win10-lw.png 
Views:	62 
Size:	1.91 MB 
ID:	144252
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,922
    What do you mean by "Lightwave is not using hardware acceleration"? Obviously it uses..

    It does not use GPU during rendering, which is completely different thing..

  3. #3
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    What do you mean by "Lightwave is not using hardware acceleration"? Obviously it uses..

    It does not use GPU during rendering, which is completely different thing..
    Sorry, my fault, I mixed up the two words, hardware and gpu

    - svein-erik -
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  4. #4
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    900
    This should work if you allow hardware acceleration in your VM settings before booting into the Windows guest OS. I've done this before with virtualbox. You can even run LW in Linux with Wine...but in discovery mode only because the licensing depends on Windows features.

    A lot of apps (that don't even have anything to do with graphics) use hardware acceleration so guest VMs should usually have it enabled.

    Quote Originally Posted by Svein-Erik View Post
    Sorry, my fault, I mixed up the two words, hardware and gpu
    Those are not exclusive terms. They can mean the same thing.

    The GPU is not used during rendering but the openGL preview display is done with GPU. So yes, Lightwave uses GPU and hardware acceleration.
    Last edited by raymondtrace; 02-28-2019 at 08:55 AM.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  5. #5
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by raymondtrace View Post
    This should work if you allow hardware acceleration in your VM settings before booting into the Windows guest OS.
    ….
    .
    1: Hardware acceleration IS enabled in the VM
    2: Also tried the old tip: mks.gl.allowBlacklistedDrivers = TRUE

    Both without success
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  6. #6
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,922
    Did you googled for e.g.
    "OpenSuse VmWare gfx acceleration not available"
    or
    "linux vm gfx acceleration not available"
    and read articles about it?

  7. #7
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Did you googled for e.g.
    "OpenSuse VmWare gfx acceleration not available"
    or
    "linux vm gfx acceleration not available"
    and read articles about it?
    Thanks for answering again. I think I have Googled most of it, but I wil try your tip again
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  8. #8
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    First, thanks to Sensei and raymondtrace for trying to help. For me I would say it is back to the drawing board and do some thinking and studying.

    I am running a dual screen system, one 24", 1920x1080, and one 28", 3840x2160 pixels. The 28" monitor is now and then giving me problems in both Windows and Linux (Open Suse) during the boot sequence. Sometimes I even have to switch it off to get the system on the air.

    The system is now very stable in Windows after the last Windows update, and I will wait and see until the system has the same stability in Linux.

    Finally, thanks again for trying to help.

    Svein-Erik
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  9. #9
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    900
    You can still experiment with some variables.

    Is there more success with...
    • VirtualBox than with VMware?
    • Windows 7 guests than with Windows 10 guests?
    • updating gfx drivers for the Linux host system?
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  10. #10
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,922
    Can you click on Start and enter dxdiag [enter] to run DirectX/Direct3D diagnostics tool.. ?
    Make screen-shot and attach. System and Display tabs.

  11. #11
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Can you click on Start and enter dxdiag [enter] to run DirectX/Direct3D diagnostics tool.. ?
    Make screen-shot and attach. System and Display tabs.
    Sorry I'm late in answering you, but I had to install OpenSuse a couple of times after trying wrong display drivers etc.

    I have a dual boot (Windows and OpenSuse) running again.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dxdiag1.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	39.8 KB 
ID:	144293 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dxdiag2.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	37.8 KB 
ID:	144294 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dxdiag3.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	144295
    Last edited by Svein-Erik; 03-02-2019 at 07:33 AM.
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  12. #12
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by raymondtrace View Post
    You can still experiment with some variables.

    Is there more success with...
    • VirtualBox than with VMware?
    • Windows 7 guests than with Windows 10 guests?
    • updating gfx drivers for the Linux host system?
    I'll try Virtual Box today, I think :-)
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  13. #13
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,922
    Search for some OpenGL/Direct3D demos.. and check what is CPU usage.. If there is no 3D acceleration, CPU should be used to simulate missing acceleration thus CPU usage will be much higher than it should be..

  14. #14
    Registered User Svein-Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by raymondtrace View Post
    You can still experiment with some variables.

    Is there more success with...
    • VirtualBox than with VMware?
    • Windows 7 guests than with Windows 10 guests?
    • updating gfx drivers for the Linux host system?
    Testet VirtualBox right now. It's the same error in Lightwave

    Again, thanks for helping. I think we all have have other (and better) things to do.
    Lightwave forum has lots of friendly people, we might ask any kind of questions :-)
    Thank you guys :-)

    svein-erik
    Win10 Pro Laptop I7 7700HQ 16GB NVidia 1050 TI UHD,
    Home build AMD Ryzen 7 Asus ROG Strix X470 16 GB RAM GeForce GTX 1070 TI

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,694
    Hi, Svein-Erik, I don't know if this is still relevant given the date of the last post, but there you go anyway:

    I use Linux, and when I need to use Windows I have a KVM virtual machine with Windows. I have enabled IOMMU so I have a dedicated GPU (or two, depending on my needs.) I can use LightWave and Octane without leaving the Linux environment.

    This workstation is set like this: 3 GPU, 3 monitor attached to two of them at the same time (so I can use either one on the VM and the Linux Host at will), two keyborads and mouse(s) and Wacom (I used to have two also, but I just dedicate the tablet to the system I'll be using the most.)

    The proceeding to do such a set-up can be a bit confusing at first, but it actually isn't that hard. There's some good almost step-by-step intructions on-line. I could give you directions to those if you still want to try this way of doing things. I got tired of VM's not working right or rebooting to a Windows OS. I only do that (the reboot to a Windows partition, that is) if I really need all the machine resources for a given project. It's seldom the case for me lately, so I'm quite happy with the solution.

    Anyway, sorry if I ramble, I'm a bit tired. All I wanted to say is that there is in fact a way to use a VM running a Windows guest in a Linux host with full GPU acceleration.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •