Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 117

Thread: Open Image Denoise node for DP Filter

  1. #61

    yeah, guess i could. Thanks for answering.  
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LW Facebook   IKBooster   My vidz

  2. #62
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Socal
    Posts
    500
    Thanks Denis.

  3. #63
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Hi Denis,

    For a while now I'm concerned about the output quality of the denoiser from your plugin. It seems to loose a lot of detail in the albedo channel. I've been seeing all these Blender examples and they look absolute terrific and got quite jealous about that

    So, I ventured out and downloaded Blender 2.81 which has a built in node that also uses the Intel denoiser. Next I downloaded this amazing bathroom scene from Davide Tirindelli that you can get for free here. Mainly I wanted to do some tests to see how fast Blender actually is compared to Lightwave (conclusion is down below).

    What I immediately found was the quality difference between Lightwave's (Denis's) denoise plugin and the built-in Blender denoise plugin.
    I found it strange that the differences were so great so I loaded the raw output files from Lightwave into Blender and denoised the images there. The result was stunning!! Perfectly smooth result!

    As a double test I denoised the Lightwave raw output with the denoiser executable from Intel itself and the result was exactly the same as Blenders'.

    So Denis, if you have the time, could you please look into why this is happening? It is clear that Somehow the Albedo and Normal channels are not being applied properly?
    This is how I have setup the nodes:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	OIDN-Nodes.jpg 
Views:	166 
Size:	84.0 KB 
ID:	145856


    Here are the outputs:

    Rendered and denoised in Lightwave
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LW-From_LW.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	356.3 KB 
ID:	145851

    Rendered in Lightwave and denoised in Blender
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LW-From_Blender.jpg 
Views:	129 
Size:	364.3 KB 
ID:	145852

    Differences comparison (left is Lightwave denoised, right is Blender denoised)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LW-Blender-cut-outs.jpg 
Views:	139 
Size:	105.0 KB 
ID:	145853

    Rendered in Lightwave and denoised with Intel's executable
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LW-From-Denoise_bin.jpg 
Views:	117 
Size:	362.5 KB 
ID:	145854

    Rendered in Blender and denoised in Blender
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Blender_From_Blender.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	390.7 KB 
ID:	145855

    This was my first rendering experience in Blender. I normally use it as a compositor. I must say that the interface is quite getting used to but I reckon that is with all new software. What I was pleased about is that the speed is comparable with Lightwaves... All these images took about 3m52 (LW) and 3m18 (Blender). There is a slightly higher quality difference noticeable in the Blender output. That combined with the faster rendering makes Blender the winner. And what I also noticed is that Blender always has Glossy Reflections on (I have no idea how to turn that off if it's possible at all) so that is also a +1 for Blender. In this rendering most surfaces have Glossy Relfection set to on in Lightwave. Just to make the comparison more 'fair'.

    There is a big difference in Lighting between the Lightwave and Blender scene as I could not really figure out what they did with the HDR in the scene. I think they use 2 HDR's together and mix it somehow? The scene is solely lit by HDR (In Lightwave I used a Environment Light). Everything is rendered with 1 samples except for camera samples. This is very important!! The denoiser mainly (only) cares about anti aliasing and not about reflection/refraction/shadow/raytrace samples.. Also make sure NOT to use adaptive AA and set your Filter Radius to 0.0 otherwise the denoise algorithm gets very confused.

    My pc is an old dual Xeon [email protected] (32 threads and 64GB mem). All tests are done only by CPU.

  4. #64
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,110
    I think you missed one important point:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_4.jpg 
Views:	171 
Size:	241.3 KB 
ID:	145857

  5. #65
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    I think you missed one important point:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_4.jpg 
Views:	171 
Size:	241.3 KB 
ID:	145857
    I have those selected.

  6. #66
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,110
    Just the only way for me to get a result like yours is to leave these channels not turned on.

  7. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    Just the only way for me to get a result like yours is to leave these channels not turned on.
    Which result do you mean? I posted many depending on settings and such. Can you post a sample perhaps?

  8. #68
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,208
    I just made a minor update, Albedo is now clamped internally (0-1)
    verified that LW normal is ranged -1+1 as it should,
    both Albedo and Normal are filled like Color in their dedicated channels.


    btw:The black ouput with normal input and missing albedo is not on my side.

    Denis.

  9. #69
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,110
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    Which result do you mean? I posted many depending on settings and such. Can you post a sample perhaps?
    Channels 'off'

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BB_off.png 
Views:	136 
Size:	1.40 MB 
ID:	145858

    Channels 'on'

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BB_on.png 
Views:	142 
Size:	1.51 MB 
ID:	145859

    Scene settings is very basic, AA=4, no AS, Filter=0.5

  10. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    I just made a minor update, Albedo is now clamped internally (0-1)
    verified that LW normal is ranged -1+1 as it should,
    both Albedo and Normal are filled like Color in their dedicated channels.


    btw:The black ouput with normal input and missing albedo is not on my side.

    Denis.
    Tbhanks Denis! You get another beer from me :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    Channels 'off'

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BB_off.png 
Views:	136 
Size:	1.40 MB 
ID:	145858

    Channels 'on'

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BB_on.png 
Views:	142 
Size:	1.51 MB 
ID:	145859

    Scene settings is very basic, AA=4, no AS, Filter=0.5
    Hmmm, I think you were right all along, I saw that after updating Denis's plugin the Raw Colour channel was not selected. Quite strange how that happened as I load the nodes via a preset and the preset is working as it should. I never touch the channels as the preset takes care of that. I'll make sure to check that first! Anyway, I'm a happy camper now!

  11. #71
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    Tbhanks Denis! You get another beer from me :-)



    Hmmm, I think you were right all along, I saw that after updating Denis's plugin the Raw Colour channel was not selected. Quite strange how that happened as I load the nodes via a preset and the preset is working as it should. I never touch the channels as the preset takes care of that. I'll make sure to check that first! Anyway, I'm a happy camper now!
    Hi Denis,

    I think I have found a bug in the Image Filter node which caused much of the confusion about the quality of OIDN in LW that I was experiencing.... I thought it was due to my Windows system/LW installs being all over the place but even after a fresh install of Windows (10) and only 1 LW version 2018.0.7, I noticed the exact same behaviour. This is what happens:

    I setup a scene with all the necessary OIDN filters. It works as expected. Then I save the scene.
    Upon loading the scene again, and doing an F9 render, I can clearly see the RAW Channel is not taken into account during the OIDN process (Water colour painting image) but when I check if the RAW Channel is ticked in the Image Filter and I see that that is the case (Red circle):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Just-loaded-RAW-Channel.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	592.7 KB 
ID:	146089

    I then Untick and Tick the RAW Channel again and do an F9 render and, voila, it looks great again until I reload the scene the next time:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untick-Tick-RAW-Channel.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	600.9 KB 
ID:	146090

    So the image filter does not seem to remember that the RAW Channel has been activated although it does show as activated (you can see the tick in the box at the RAW Channel). I think this is a bug since I have just reinstalled my complete system from scratch. But, please, if someone else can confirm this?

  12. #72
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,208
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    ...So the image filter does not seem to remember that the RAW Channel has been activated although it does show as activated (you can see the tick in the box at the RAW Channel). I think this is a bug since I have just reinstalled my complete system from scratch. But, please, if someone else can confirm this?
    Yes I can confirm,
    I updated DPFilter_2018,
    I renamed "Transparency" scalar buffer as "Trans", was causing confusion with same labeled color buffer,
    and a weird collateral issue, Raw buffer wasn't set but selected after loading.
    Your previous saved scene should work as expected now.

    (I fixed another load error with "Volumetric Light" buffer)

    Thanks for report,
    Denis.
    Last edited by dpont; 10-03-2019 at 01:54 AM.

  13. #73
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Yes I can confirm,
    I updated DPFilter_2018,
    I renamed "Transparency" scalar buffer as "Trans", was causing confusion with same labeled color buffer,
    and a weird collateral issue, Raw buffer wasn't set but selected after loading.
    Your previous saved scene should work as expected now.

    (I fixed another load error with "Volumetric Light" buffer)

    Thanks for report,
    Denis.
    Yep, all working as expected! Thanks!

  14. #74
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,208
    I updated the readme file of the OpenImageDenoise node,
    since the OIDN has been updated to version 1.1.0, but no change in the node yet.
    https://github.com/OpenImageDenoise/oidn/releases/

    I added a Mac UB version, please read the doc of the node carefully,
    similar tricky installation but with a few differences.

    The libtbb from Layout/bin must be replaced by a special one
    from the node zip, not from the OIDN package (like for Windows).

    Also the shared library from the OIDN package must be copied
    in the /usr/local/lib folder of your OSX not the node plugin folder.

    Denis.
    Last edited by dpont; 10-15-2019 at 10:02 AM.

  15. #75
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,113
    Much appreciated, thanks Denis!
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •