Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: LWCAD and LW2019 install issues

  1. #1
    I should update my Avatar Verlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,354

    LWCAD and LW2019 install issues

    I'm not posting under support because I do not believe this to be a Lightwave bug, at least not in the normal sense.

    I installed LW2019, and registered it. - on macOS Mojave running on a Early 2018 MB Pro.
    As per usual, this is followed immediately by installing LWCAD (5.51) and setting up the menu branches.

    Then I open LW to register LWCAD
    None of the buttons work. There is no "You must register LWCAD" or other window. Even the LWCAD Options button doesn't do anything.

    Ok, went back and re-downloaded LWCAD. I manually added the plugins. Same thing. I tried various remove and reinstalls of the plugin, but nothing. At least one other user was having similar issues, but not sure whether that was Mac or PC, on the LWCAD Forums.

    Has anyone else had this, and, if so, how did they get around it.

    Yes, I posted on the LWCAD forums also, but sold my patience to buy more rum!
    Verlon Smith

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4i3XnbEKBw&feature=plcp - shameless prommotion for my daughter's horror (by 4 year old standards) story.

  2. #2
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,854
    Could it be an issue with the menu branches?
    Have you tried just adding the LWCAD tools to a menu branch that you've created yourself? Would be interesting to see if that works, or doesn't.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3
    I should update my Avatar Verlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,354
    Thanks for the response.
    I haven’t tried that, but the plugins are not showing under the “additional” menu to run without using the branches. This is part of them not working, I think. That said, they show as installed under “Edit Plugins.”

    I tried adding the plugins directly from my working 2018 directory, but this did not alter the result.
    Verlon Smith

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4i3XnbEKBw&feature=plcp - shameless prommotion for my daughter's horror (by 4 year old standards) story.

  4. #4
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    3,017
    All fine here with the latest version on windows. Sorry cant be of much help with Mac issues. Have you contacted Viktor because i know he is planning a couple of updates this year before LWCad 2020 comes out.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2019.03

    Very nice Laptop

  5. #5
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,370
    I have LWCad 5.51 running in LW2019.0 in HS.
    Maybe it's the same Mojave issue that LW2018 had with the buttons.
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019

  6. #6
    Sorry wrong answer ...
    Last edited by Wireframex; 02-04-2019 at 11:55 AM.
    Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX 32 Cores - 64 Threads / 2 x GTX 1080 + 1 GTX 1070 / Windows 10 x64 / 64 Go Ram / LW2019 & Softimage user

  7. #7
    I should update my Avatar Verlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,354
    Well, I have long griped about the lack of changes to Modeler. Now I have the most significant change to Modeler since LW6: LWCAD isn't working.

    I've added uninstalling and reinstalling LW and LWCAD, and I've reached out to Viktor as well.

    I guess the bright side to all the focus on Layout is that I can use Modeler 2018 without missing out on new features.
    Verlon Smith

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4i3XnbEKBw&feature=plcp - shameless prommotion for my daughter's horror (by 4 year old standards) story.

  8. #8
    I should update my Avatar Verlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,354
    And I fixed it!
    Uninstalled LW2019 (everything).
    Reinstalled LW2019.
    Added LWCAD from LAYOUT instead of Modeler.

    Everything works. I cannot fathom why this would make the least bit of difference, but it did. All of the files are the exact same as before.
    Verlon Smith

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4i3XnbEKBw&feature=plcp - shameless prommotion for my daughter's horror (by 4 year old standards) story.

  9. #9
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,134
    I've a quick question about this. I've got LWCAD 2018 installed in LW2018 okay, but when I run the LWCAD 2018.1 installer, it isn't finding my installation of LW2019.0.1 - anyone any ideas?
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  10. #10
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,134
    Found my answer on the LWCAD forum - should've looked harder before posting here, but incase there are other muppets who stumble through life with their eyes half-shut, here's the answer:

    You need to manually install it.

    Doh!
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  11. #11
    Registered User calilifestyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    cali, Santa Clarita
    Posts
    1,561
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kopperdrake View Post
    Found my answer on the LWCAD forum - should've looked harder before posting here, but incase there are other muppets who stumble through life with their eyes half-shut, here's the answer:

    You need to manually install it.

    Doh!
    Uncalled for
    Ell no 'ta enamora' de mi, yo tampoco

  12. #12
    Pleased to meet you. Oedo 808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,558
    Yeah, there was no need at all to insult the muppets

    (calilifestyle, check his previous post for context)
    Sentenced to 310 years for crimes against modelling and rendering.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •