Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Displace ploys along normals without bending or smoothing

  1. #1

    Displace ploys along normals without bending or smoothing

    Hi All!
    Not sure if i worded my title line correctly, so here's the skinny... I have a plane of polys that I would like to cascade down to a final position. I could separate them all out to individual object layers and control then with 3 or 4 different techniques, but I just don't want to break them out like that (there's al lot!).
    A standard texture displacement causes them to distort as they move (the shape contains explicit non-welded polys but their sides are coincident in space). I would ideally like the polys to move in a cascading manner without changing shape.
    Thoughts?

    Cheers
    Jeff

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,862
    Is this in Layout for an animation or in Modeler for a final geometry or morph? Also, what version of LW.

    mTp

  3. #3
    Registered User squarewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    433
    You could try DP Kit Part Move.

  4. #4
    ok... here's the embarrassing part..
    In layout.... version 9...
    I know I know... I power it with a mule on a treadmill ok?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,862
    PartMove is available natively in LW2018 (and I assume later). Here's a prior thread which gives an example of offsetting an array of square tiles with a black&white animation:

    https://forums.newtek.com/showthread...on-Texture-How

    The part (tile) offset can be run from almost any sort of Scalar input.

    mTp

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,862
    OK. For LW V9, I think you could use Point Clone Plus to create the base morph and a morph for the final position of the plane of polygons, then use MorphMixer to do the transition. It also looks like DP Kit is available for version 9:

    http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/pl...l_Nodes_2.html

    but I don't know if DP Kit Part move was available then.

    mTp

  7. #7
    Registered User Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    10X,185Y,35Z
    Posts
    47
    Try this nodal setup Tiles.zip
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Hulk; 02-03-2019 at 12:25 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •