Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 77

Thread: TriCaster Advanced Edition 3 - For all Pro-Line!

  1. #1

    Exclamation TriCaster Advanced Edition 3 - For all Pro-Line!

    Hey Guys!

    Do you have any information about this release? Our school have TC460AEv2. What will we obtain after upgrading?
    Alejandro Núñez |
    Multimedia Producer and E-learning specialist |
    www.productormultimedia.com



    Equipment: :

    460 with Advanced Edition software.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,655
    This information will be on the Newtek website tomorrow

    EDIT: And dealers know as much about AE3 as the public, which is NOTHING at this time ;-)
    Last edited by JPulera; 01-29-2019 at 10:30 AM.
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  3. #3

    Cool It's official! Wow!

    Just checked!

    https://www.newtek.com/tricaster/advanced-edition/


    However, the "Explore all features" button, links to: http://localhost:4000/tricaster/adva...tion/in-depth/

    and the correct link is: https://www.newtek.com/tricaster/adv...tion/in-depth/


    Great news!
    Alejandro Núñez |
    Multimedia Producer and E-learning specialist |
    www.productormultimedia.com



    Equipment: :

    460 with Advanced Edition software.

  4. #4
    Registered User spaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    81
    Page updates and links are still pushing through the system. All the links for both pages should be fine in a few more minutes.
    Sr. Director, Marketing Services
    NewTek
    San Antonio, TX

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,655
    From what I can tell so far, for folks already using AE2, the AE3 upgrade gets you a lot of what TC1 users got with the recent "V2" overhaul, meaning TouchScreen support, ExpressMode, LiveMatte Pro, lots of interface tweaks, etc.

    "PTZ Control PanelsNEW
    Operate supported PTZ cameras more efficiently and with a higher degree of precision, with individual PTZ control panels and preset bins integrated into their corresponding input configuration panels."

    The new PTZ layout met a lot of resistance from TC1 users. If you are used to using the large PTZ interface at lower left of screen to quickly choose presets from different cameras, that will be no more. Rather, you have to enter the Configure menu for EACH source to access its PTZ controls. Extra steps.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Quote Originally Posted by JPulera View Post
    Rather, you have to enter the Configure menu for EACH source to access its PTZ controls. Extra steps.
    Just on this point, I'd like to mention a couple of things we've done to mitigate this since the original release of 7-0 (Version 2) for TC1. (In particular, feedback suggested that convenient access to preset thumbnails was important to many, even when they are using a CS.)

    First, we added a new "Preview Presets" page to TriCaster's webpage system. This page provides a monitor that shows the currently selected Preview row source, along with up to 16 PTZ presets for that source (if any) and speed controls. This webpage is available on all current models running AE3 (does not require LivePanel). It provides a handy visual way for someone with a tablet or laptop on the network to trigger presets.

    Second, we added a new shortcut key that toggles display of the Input Config panel for the current Preview selection, which provides a quick and easy way to access to the PTZ control group for that camera ... a sort of ersatz 'one-button, Follow Preview' method.

    Finally, I'll just mention that there is more on the way in this respect, but nothing I can talk about at this point.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    Yet another SKU, and different TriCaster models support different features? Seems... complicated.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  8. #8
    A question, Does this update enable TriCaster Pro-Line, to access "Premium access tools" , like KVM, LiveGraphics, LivePanel and Virtual PTZ ??
    Alejandro Núñez |
    Multimedia Producer and E-learning specialist |
    www.productormultimedia.com



    Equipment: :

    460 with Advanced Edition software.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,655
    Hi Steve,

    Great news on the PTZ updates, thank you. As always, Newtek does listen to users. I'd uninstalled V2 from our TC1 DEMO machine since I often demo to customers interested in the Mini and the new layout of TC1 V2 was too different from what they would be getting, so I went back to older software for consistency across the product line. Guess I may have to dive back into TC1 V2 and see what's happening there again.

    I did just want to point out the PTZ changes since I know some TC1 users were unhappy - and that was a free update - so buying an update and then finding that the PTZ workflow had radically changed could make for unhappy campers that rely on that interface/workflow.


    Steve - maybe you can verify - could a user download and install AE3 and TEST it before purchase (with watermarked output) as one could with AE2? That might be a good idea for some folks.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Quote Originally Posted by lukerctv View Post
    Seems... complicated.
    It is. It would have been far, far easier for us not to make it possible for people to get still more mileage out of their XD class systems. Instead, we have opted to let them make a choice for themselves on whether they are good as they are, or like what they see.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Quote Originally Posted by JPulera View Post
    Steve - maybe you can verify - could a user download and install AE3 and TEST it before purchase (with watermarked output) as one could with AE2? That might be a good idea for some folks.
    I asked, and was told that we 'think it would work' ... so basically, yeah probably, at your own risk, etc., etc. Obviously, don't try this unless you have time to do a restore operation before any production.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  12. #12
    It would be great a video showing all the new features!
    I tried to buy the upgrade, but it's not available yet.
    Daniel Choi
    Tricaster 460 AE2 - Tricaster 855 - Tricaster 455

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    42
    I have a question about some of the features. For the External Recorders it says "Optionally capture up to 8 external NDI® sources over the network to local storage media as H.264 media files." Does this mean you are able to record NDI sources to hard drives you have plugged into the Tricaster as H.264 files?

    For the External Replay Clips it says "Optionally add real-time video clips captured from external NDI® sources to DDRs for playback and replay.". I know previously you were unable to directly record an NDI source and had to put it in a MIX to record it. Does this mean you can now directly record NDI sources on the Tricaster?

  14. #14
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMissingLink2 View Post
    I have a question about some of the features. For the External Recorders it says ...
    I regret that I think there may be some 'residual murkiness' in those descriptions (we'll try to resolve this). Here's the info I have, which I really think is correct:

    *Control recording of up to 12 (on an 8000; count decreases on other models) channels of video (some of these are actually captured on the remote device, but are available locally for replay, etc.) in total that can be any combination of the following:

    • 4x internal recordings in high bit-rate, high quality format.
    • Up to 8 (XD8000 only) more external recordings that can be a) captured locally from an NDI|HX device (in H.264), or b) remotely on a Spark configured for capture on an SD card or connected USB storage, or c) remotely on a device (such as an NC1 IO) that supports remote control in high hit-rate, high quality format.
    • High quality (i.e., not the H.264) formats - internal or remote - include the ability to playback growing files (for replays, for example).
    • Also record an additional two channels of H.264 up to 100Mbit (?) and at any resolution and frame-rate.

    * By "control", I mean you can initiate recording to the external system connected to a TriCaster input.

    My apologies for the confusion. I'll continue to try to refine this post for better clarity.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  15. #15
    Registered User spaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by Koinonia View Post
    It would be great a video showing all the new features!
    I tried to buy the upgrade, but it's not available yet.
    Store is updated and checkout is now enabled.
    Sr. Director, Marketing Services
    NewTek
    San Antonio, TX

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •