Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Spark over wireless on a different network

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470

    Spark over wireless on a different network

    I was hoping I could get my spark to work on a wifi network here at school. The majority of my equipment is hard wired on a network. Our wireless here is on a different subnet. Our IT guy says the wifi can't be changed so right now until we get some hookups made, my spark is a paper weight. Does anyone have any ideas what can be done to make this work? Thanks.

  2. #2
    You can use NDI Access Manager to create remote connections to devices on other subnets. While this will attempt to make the connection, there does need to be a route between these networks, with no blocking of the required ports that will be used for communications.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    Where can I get access manager? I don't see an access manager. Thanks.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I found it.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    Is there a tutorial on how to use the access manager?

  5. #5
    I'm not aware of any tutorial.

    1. Run NDI Access Manager as Administrator
    2. Select the 'Remote Sources' tab.
    3. Click 'New'
    4. Type in the IP address of the device.
    5 .Under 'Type' select the correct NDI-HX device type.
    6 .The local device name will be the group name and channel will be the name of the device as it will appear on this system.
    7. Click OK.

    Now open NDI Studio Monitor and select you device off the list. Be aware that just because it appears in the list, doesn't mean that a connection has occurred, you have to select it any see if video appears.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    How do I find the IP of the spark for the wifi? I just got this thing and am learning. I know the IP address when it is hard wired but don't know the wifi IP. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    I tried using the Spark on a wired network but, what I was using it for, the Spark had too much latency. The delay between sound and video was just too much for me to take. I'm going to return it and get something with full NDI and see how that works.

  8. #8
    The Spark Pro has much lower latency being full NDI (it is as fast as SDI). However, it will have to be wired.
    https://www.newtek.com/blog/tips/new...and-spark-pro/
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    Being wired is my only option anyway, so I should be set.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •