Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Router suggestions

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curacao
    Posts
    6

    Router suggestions

    Hi guys, I am using 2 NewTek Spark, any suggestions what router works best with this? I will be using the sparks in a crowded event (indoor and outdoors)

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,660
    Can you please elaborate - are you intending to use these with WiFi rather than wired?

    For WiFi, please see this thread: https://forums.newtek.com/showthread...iti-Components

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curacao
    Posts
    6
    Hi Jeff, Thank you
    Last edited by lremedia; 01-14-2019 at 07:33 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curacao
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by JPulera View Post
    Can you please elaborate - are you intending to use these with WiFi rather than wired?

    For WiFi, please see this thread: https://forums.newtek.com/showthread...iti-Components

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Thank you Jeff, I just bought a Ubiquiti UniFi AP Outdoor 5 and going to try it out

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curacao
    Posts
    6
    Hi there I bought the Unifi AP Outdoor5 but for days now I can not make this work with Spark HDMI, all connections seems to be fine I can ping Unifi and Sparks but can not connect thru UNIFI to my computer. when I log in to spark I will see the AP Outdoor5 and it will connect but I can not see spark HDMI for example on the "Studio Monitor" and secondly as soon I disconnect and close the browser and log in again I can see that it disconnect, It does not auto connect. all firmware is updated (0943) If I use another Router than it works fine and connect direct and fast, Is there something I am doing wrong or need to configure

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    19
    Avoid TP-Link PoE routers - I'll post the model number later, but ours doesn't pass through the NDI signal, even though the management webpage and DCHP works correctly.

  7. #7
    I'd be curious to know the model of the TP-Link unit. I have one of their non-PoE 16-port switches (TL-SG1016DE) and it has worked great with NDI.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  8. #8
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,714
    We have a few TP Link routers in house and they seem to pass NDI just fine as well.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    19
    TP-Link model TL-SG108PE

    When the Sparks are downstream of it, they respond via the webpage management console, but no NDI feed in Monitor application or vMix.
    Physically bypass the router and NDI feed appears for both peices of software.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Oskaloosa, IA
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by PiD Media View Post
    TP-Link model TL-SG108PE

    When the Sparks are downstream of it, they respond via the webpage management console, but no NDI feed in Monitor application or vMix.
    Physically bypass the router and NDI feed appears for both peices of software.
    Have you tried the Access Manager tool? We are using the UniFi routers, and once Bonjour was turned off, we had to use the Access Manager to find the Sparks... If you are using a DHCP system, you should be able to assign a locked IP address to the MAC addresses of the Spark (there are 2 MAC addresses, one for wifi and one for wired)... Once you have a locked in IP address it should show up every time...

  11. #11
    I'd try a system reset back for factory defaults on that TP-link switch. That is the same model line of what I've got, just with PoE+ added to it. In my case, I have the 16-port TL-SG1016DE and 5-port TL-SG105E both connected, running all kinds of NDI and NDI-HX sources across both of them.

    Sounds like something is not set correctly on that TP-Link. Not sure what, and I'll be the first to admit that there is not much you can set wrong on these models as they have limited management controls. That is one of the reasons that I've recommended these units for smaller setups. You pretty much can't set them wrong.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    19
    As far as I'm aware, the only item that's been changed off the default setting, is the name of the device.

    I got around the issue by hooking our Ubiquiti wifi AP and it's own PoE adapter, directly in to a bare bones unmanaged router.

    We used the Sparks that way last Friday for a stream, and beyond some small niggles related to the Canon cameras, they were reliable for our broadcast.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •