Thread: How to make the guitar stick on the animated fbx character

Smile How to make the guitar stick on the animated fbx character

Hi
    I've made an animation with my character using Mixamo.com,
    resulting in an fbx animation of a guitar player -see example attached.

Question is: How can fix a guitar to look "almost natural" in his hands.
    I just made a silly test to try it...
    BTW: I use LW 11.6

Any suggestions out there?
    Although I've bee on and of this forum for many years I'm still a newbie and need an explanation, not keywords.

Anyway, Iīd really appreciate for some help from you guys out there.

Best Regards
    Alan Safewood

Quote Originally Posted by Alan Safewood View Post
    Hi
    I've made an animation with my character using Mixamo.com,
    resulting in an fbx animation of a guitar player -see example attached.

Question is: How can fix a guitar to look "almost natural" in his hands.
    I just made a silly test to try it...
    BTW: I use LW 11.6

Any suggestions out there?
    Although I've bee on and of this forum for many years I'm still a newbie and need an explanation, not keywords.

Anyway, Iīd really appreciate for some help from you guys out there.

Best Regards
    Alan Safewood
    Remove all keyframes from it and then parent it to a null or part of the skeleton so that it moves with that part only. The wrist should work

Sounds like a good idea. Iīll get rid of those 4 keyframes, but how exactly do I parent it to something (wrist, stomach or something

There are two ways to do that...

Both use the Motion Options panel.

1) Is to physically set the parent item in the motion options, be it a bone, null, mesh, etc.

2) The other way is to use Position and Rotation constraints.
    2a) Create a null item and parent it to your character. Position it where you want the guitar.