Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 51

Thread: LightWave 3D 2018.0.7 Available Now

  1. #16
    Super Member Snosrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    4,925
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Thank you very much for fixing the FiberFX bug, very much appreciated!
    So you are going to stick with LW now Paul? ��

  2. #17
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Snosrap View Post
    So you are going to stick with LW now Paul? ��
    Yes. I hope my comment didn’t come across badly, I was just out of sorts on the issue. Now if I could just get Newtek to improve the Sliders...
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  3. #18
    Registered User ianr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chiltern Riviera
    Posts
    1,466
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Yes. I hope my comment didn’t come across badly, I was just out of sorts on the issue. Now if I could just get Newtek to improve the Sliders...


    Well it did, I think U should send LWDG a xmas card!!!!

    They have looked after you very well Paul. More positives in 2019

  4. #19
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,399
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Thank you very much for fixing the FiberFX bug, very much appreciated!
    Very welcome! Apologies for the time it took to get around to it!
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc., Vizrt Group
    [url=http://www.newtek.com][b]NewTek.com[/b][/url]
    [URL=http://www.lightwave3d.com/][b]LightWave3D.com[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.facebook.com/newtekinc][b]NewTek USA Facebook[/b][/url]
    [url=http://twitter.com/NewTekInc][b]Twitter[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.linkedin.com/company/newtek][b]LinkedIn[/b][/url]
    [size=1]Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker :)[COLOR="DarkOrange"]
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.[/COLOR][/size]

  5. #20
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,116
    Wow! Just received:

    Issue LWB-3937 has been marked as CLOSED.
    Link: https://www.lightwave3d.com/account/report/LWB-3937/
    @to_user
    This has been fixed for the next version of LightWave.

  6. #21
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    6,059
    That's cool, sounds like an important fix too!
    I've also had quite a few reports closed recently... They're all over it at the moment!
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  7. #22
    Thanks so much for this update

    Would you guys please, PLEASE make LW's windows dockable soon as well? It's a pain to use it on my laptop sometimes. Something along the lines of AE's dock/undock'able windows would be super nice!

  8. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    Wow! Just received:

    Issue LWB-3937 has been marked as CLOSED.
    Link: https://www.lightwave3d.com/account/report/LWB-3937/
    @to_user
    This has been fixed for the next version of LightWave.
    What was that? Issues are not available for viewing.

  9. #24
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,116
    ClothFX affects only static objects - no effect on animated/deforming objects.

  10. #25
    ex-LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,266
    Would you guys please, PLEASE make LW's windows dockable soon as well? It's a pain to use it on my laptop sometimes. Something along the lines of AE's dock/undock'able windows would be super nice!
    There are other tools you can use to give some aspects of docking. I now use DisplayFusion, a tool for multiple monitors that has docking included, but you can use the free Allsnap (http://ivanheckman.com/allsnap/) that I used before, it's very good. Of course, Windows 10 messes with snapping so you'll need to redo it each time if you are on Win10.

    B
    Last edited by BeeVee; 11-07-2018 at 10:38 AM.
    Ben Vost
    LightWave 3D Docs wiki
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 456.71, 2x4K 23.5" monitors
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    601
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    There are other tools you can use to give some aspects of docking. I now use DisplayFusion, a tool for multiple monitors that has docking included, but you can use the free Allsnap (http://ivanheckman.com/allsnap/) that I used before, it's very good. Of course, Windows 10 messes with snapping so you'll need to redo it each time if you are on Win10.

    B
    OR.... new GUI with docking?

  12. #27
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    Very welcome! Apologies for the time it took to get around to it!
    Thanks very much, really is appreciated.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  13. #28
    Super Member tburbage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    388
    +10 (to just implement docking of at least the most obvious of panels). In Modeler, that would be a right side dock with "Tool" input on one tab (aka Numeric), and an array of Statistics/VMaps/Layers grouped together on an adjacent tab. When a tool is enabled, the "Tool" tab would become active. When dropped, the other tab would. Like in Maya, the tabs can be vertically aligned along the side edge rather than horizontally across the top. Substance Paint takes a similar approach but is iconic/more like a vertical button bar rather then word/tabs. You can double-click on them to hide the panels leaving only the tabs, then double-click to restore.
    Last edited by tburbage; 11-08-2018 at 11:22 PM.

  14. #29
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,227
    Personally, I'm less concerned about "docking" versus just allowing much finer control over which panels share windows versus which ones do not (I'd honestly prefer if none shared windows, just my personal preference). The problem with most "docking" solutions from third-party utilities is that they don't deal well when the app is constantly changing what all resides within the docked window (thereby changing its dimensions frequently), and I find the "window sharing" behavior seriously exacerbates that issue.

    If we could turn off "window sharing", then we could rely on the window titles & layouts w.r.t. third-party window mgmt tools. As is, it's difficult because the sharing tends to cause the dimensions and even "active pane titles" to change often.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  15. #30
    ex-LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,266
    True, but in Modeler's case that only really applies to the Numeric window on a frequent basis. The Stats, Layers and Vertex Maps panels are all reasonably unchanging in their shape and size. What's annoying for me is Windows 10's insistence on resizing windows slightly on each restart.

    B
    Ben Vost
    LightWave 3D Docs wiki
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 456.71, 2x4K 23.5" monitors
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •