Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Volumetric light display in VPR? No workee here /scene attached

  1. #1
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,740

    Question Volumetric light display in VPR? No workee here /scene attached

    Following a tutorial by Antti (https://youtu.be/Cr1PC0iI3IE ) and I can't seem to get VPR to display the volumetric.

    Scene attached. What am I missing? I'm sure it's something embarrassingly simple.

    LW2018-Volumetric.zip
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  2. #2
    Registered User Diepgroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    50
    Intensity fall off Light Properties

  3. #3
    Registered User OjN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Mi
    Posts
    103

    Cool Square fallow on

    You are missing square fallof on. I now, this is counter-intuitive...
    Volumetric Experiments2.lws

  4. #4
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,740
    Thanks everybody: I could swore I turned that OFF at one point because I thought maybe IT was killing the volumetric.

    And yeah: counter-intuitive..... ::sigh::..

    now, to PLAY!!!
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  5. #5
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,879
    Quote Originally Posted by OjN View Post
    You are missing square fallof on. I now, this is counter-intuitive...
    Volumetric Experiments2.lws
    No, proper term is "bug", not "counter-intuitive". The two functionalities are not clearly related, no clear/obvious reason users should expect one setting to impact (inhibit) the other.

    BTW, once again, WTF can't LW at least give some frigging error message in that case indicating either turn off volumetrics or turn on falloff ?!? That's just lazy development, frankly.
    Last edited by jwiede; 06-23-2018 at 03:28 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  6. #6
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,740

    Question New question, same thread, related: emulating old style volumetric light presets?

    So, with the new renderer and all, without using Legacy Volumetrics, can you pull some of the tricks, such as used in Lertola2's avatar, via the node editor and the new volumetric lights???

    ++++++++
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    No, proper term is "bug", not "counter-intuitive". The two functionalities are not clearly related, no clear/obvious reason users should expect one setting to impact (inhibit) the other.

    BTW, once again, WTF can't LW at least give some frigging error message in that case indicating either turn off volumetrics or turn on falloff ?!? That's just lazy development, frankly.
    +1 : a warning would have been appreciated.
    Last edited by jeric_synergy; 06-23-2018 at 06:55 PM.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •