Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Lightwave 2018 - FiberFX Load Object From Scene crashes Lightwave!

  1. #1
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,103

    Exclamation Lightwave 2018 - FiberFX Load Object From Scene crashes Lightwave!

    Hi Folks.

    There is a bug in Lightwave 2018 which has brought work on one of my movie projects to a complete halt. When I Load Object From Scene and I load in an object that has FiberFX hair/fur applied to it, once I switch to VPR mode (or if I already have it turned on) Layout crashes!! This bug was present in Lightwave 2018.0.3 (and I'm assuming previous versions). I reported it and it was confirmed to be a bug and it would be looked at. Lightwave 2018.0.4 is out now and this bug is still there. As a result, I can't load objects from one scene into another, that have FiberFX applied to them, and this has brought my Shooting Stars 3 movie project to a complete halt. I have reported the bug again to Newtek in the hope this can be sorted but the reason for this post is to first air the issue, and second to see if anyone has any ideas how to get around the issue?
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,855
    Yes, I can confirm this is a bug in LW2018.0.4 with a very simple FiberFX scene.

    FYI, the issue appears to be that the Load Items from Scene doesn't correctly interpret the {Parent Name} subchunk of the Fiber primitive plugin section of the Scene file. Even if I move the subchunk to the beginning of the Plugin information, Load Scene will load it but Load Items from Scene will not:

    Plugin PrimitiveHandler 1 FiberPrimitive
    { ParentName
    "FiberFX_Tests:Layer5"
    }
    ...
    EndPlugin

    So, if you use Load Scene, the Fiber primitive's Properties has a parent mesh:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FiberFX_LW2018.0.4_LoadScene.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	707.4 KB 
ID:	141657

    whereas using Load Items from Scene doesn't properly tie the Fiber primitive to its parent mesh:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FiberFX_LW2018.0.4_LoadItemFromScene_Crash.jpg 
Views:	72 
Size:	963.5 KB 
ID:	141658

    As well, it isn't just VPR. If you try to Clone the Fiber primitive, it also crashes Layout.

    I've attached my very simplistic FiberFX test scene. You might add this information and the simple test scene to your Bug Report, if you haven't already provided a reproducer for them.

    Unfortunately, I can't think of any workaround without a code change to make Load Items from Scene find the {ParentName} chunk and properly tie the Fiber primitive to its parent mesh.

    mTp
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by MonroePoteet; 05-12-2018 at 05:53 PM. Reason: Correct parent name in ParentName subchunk; typo

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,855
    A further review of the LWS file may mean there are other sources of not tying the Fiber primitive to its parent mesh. There's also an FFobject chunk which references the parent mesh, as well as ItemID's identifying it.

    I still think the source of the crash is not having the parent mesh set up correctly, for whatever reason (any of these, or something else).

    mTp

  4. #4
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,103
    MonroePoteet, thanks very much for looking into this and confirming the issue, and what's wrong. I have updated the bug report with this. I appreciate it.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  5. #5
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,103

    Smile

    Newtek got back to me on this matter with a solution. When you Load Object From Scene, you have to expand the Scene content in the load box and also load in the two FiberFX items too. Here's the pic they sent me:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FiberFX_LoadFromScene.png 
Views:	92 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	141691
    When you do this, it works perfectly.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  6. #6
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,103
    UPDATE: Another bug. When you do as outlined above and load an object from one scene to another that has FiberFX applied to it, it works fine. But if you then load a second object in that also has FiberFX applied to it, Lightwave just closes instantly, no crash, just closes back to the desktop. Bummer .
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  7. #7
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,879
    These are the kinds of bugs that even rudimentary module testing and code review should be catching, so their surviving into release (and then across updates) is... very disappointing.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  8. #8
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,740
    ::sigh::

    Is it just me or are these kind of mistakes rather... bush league?
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Hi Folks.

    There is a bug in Lightwave 2018 which has brought work on one of my movie projects to a complete halt. When I Load Object From Scene and I load in an object that has FiberFX hair/fur applied to it, once I switch to VPR mode (or if I already have it turned on) Layout crashes!! This bug was present in Lightwave 2018.0.3 (and I'm assuming previous versions). I reported it and it was confirmed to be a bug and it would be looked at. Lightwave 2018.0.4 is out now and this bug is still there. As a result, I can't load objects from one scene into another, that have FiberFX applied to them, and this has brought my Shooting Stars 3 movie project to a complete halt. I have reported the bug again to Newtek in the hope this can be sorted but the reason for this post is to first air the issue, and second to see if anyone has any ideas how to get around the issue?
    as a workaround.. you could try the fiberfx presets in my tools, which I believe you have.
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  10. #10
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    1,103
    Lightwave 2018.0.5 is released and the bug still persists in FibreFX that crashes Lightwave when I try to load two FibreFX objects from a scene into a new scene. I’ve reported this bug again and again had it confirmed as a bug and again told it has being passed onto the developers to be fixed... Umm... This is becoming the new Sliders nonsense. Newtek, you’re ticking me off with this crap now!
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    530
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Lightwave 2018.0.5 is released and the bug still persists in FibreFX that crashes Lightwave when I try to load two FibreFX objects from a scene into a new scene. I’ve reported this bug again and again had it confirmed as a bug and again told it has being passed onto the developers to be fixed... Umm... This is becoming the new Sliders nonsense. Newtek, you’re ticking me off with this crap now!
    This isn't a solution by any stretch, but perhaps a usable workaround.

    With the original FiberFX object in the original Layout scene, open the FiberFX properties and save your settings to file. Then remove FiberFX and save the scene.

    Do this for all of the objects you have FiberFX applied to in separate scenes and want to load into a new scene together.

    Then load each object normally into a new Layout, add FiberFX and load your saved individual settings for each object.

    You should have exactly what you started with in respect to the FiberFX on those objects.

    I haven't tested it with more than two objects, but it worked for me with those two objects loaded from other scenes with no crashes in the new Layout window.

  12. #12
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,584
    [ Duplicated Information, nothing to see here...]
    Last edited by Kryslin; 07-06-2018 at 07:31 AM.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Boland View Post
    Lightwave 2018.0.5 is released and the bug still persists in FibreFX that crashes Lightwave when I try to load two FibreFX objects from a scene into a new scene. I’ve reported this bug again and again had it confirmed as a bug and again told it has being passed onto the developers to be fixed... Umm... This is becoming the new Sliders nonsense. Newtek, you’re ticking me off with this crap now!
    ridiculous...

  14. #14
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,879
    Well, Paul, I'd definitely recommend sending a PM to Chuck with the whole story, providing bug number, etc. Maybe he can light a needed fire under or on someone!
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  15. #15
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,399
    I'll check on this; but please bear in mind while I can inquire on things and suggest moving something up in the priority list, I can't really light fires under anyone.
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc., Vizrt Group
    NewTek.com
    LightWave3D.com
    NewTek USA Facebook
    Twitter
    LinkedIn
    Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •