Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Connect Pro and HTTP sources

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    36

    Connect Pro and HTTP sources

    "Support for a range of video over IP sources, including RTMP, RTSP, and HTTP streams"
    (from the connect pro web page)


    so i am able to configure an input on a connect pro to receive a TCP source- and it works surprisingly well!

    how can I configure a connect pro input to receive a video stream from youtube.com? I should be able to paste the URL address and go (same at TCP source above) is that not correct? is the only way to achieve this is to send a NDI stream via VLC and NDI tools?

    thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Connect Pro can accept those kind of sources, but it has to be the link directly to the video media, not the URL to the page that the video is contained on. Google makes it difficult to find this link, because it is something they don't want you to do.

    VLC Player 3.0 has support to find and extract the link directly to the media file from a YouTube page URL. When the next version of NDI Tools is released with the VLC 3.x NDI plug-in, this would be the best solution to take a YouTube video and turning it into NDI. At least until Google changes things to make it incompatible.

    Another solution is to use NDI Scan Converter to share the computer screen that is playing the YouTube site.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    36
    got it! thank you Kane!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    54
    We need to use Singular live in or production. In OBS, Wirecast, vMix, Teradeck, Gameshow, and pretty much any other tool we use - you just enter the http address and it keys in great.

    Connect Pro doesn't recognize the address so we've tried using scan converter with a browser, but sizing and keying out the white is a pain.

    OBS NDI output is another fix, but then you have to key out black and it's not ideal when the source already comes in with transparency. Ultimately, the TC1 will stop seeing the OBS feed and not pick it up again until we exit and go back in - which isn't possible during most of out productions. Some last over 6 hours.

    The product page for ConnectPro lists http streams, so what is wrong with either ConnectPro or Singular that I can try to get corrected?

    I've left this page up for you to see a singular output. Maybe someone here knows how to get it to work in ConnectPro

    https://app.singular.live/devices/4n...OA?aspect=16:9

    Again, in OBS, you would just add a browser source - set it to 1920x1080 and you're off to the races.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    181
    That's a pretty cool website, though it would probably have to be supported by NewTek to work, since there's no actual video on that page. It just renders the graphics in the browser with javascript, which is very neat, but not any sort of "standard" that Connect Pro could identify without specific implementation.

    Edit:

    https://boinx.com/mimolive/

    mimoLive also natively does what you want, but in a bit of ironic justice it's macOS-only.
    Last edited by lukerctv; 12-05-2018 at 08:41 AM.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •