Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Change Thickness?

  1. #1
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724

    Change Thickness?

    Hi All, I have a job to redo that requires I change the thickness of a few parts of the object. Is there a way to uniformly do this without effecting any other dimension of the object?

  2. #2
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,288
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony3d View Post
    Hi All, I have a job to redo that requires I change the thickness of a few parts of the object. Is there a way to uniformly do this without effecting any other dimension of the object?
    What LW version?
    the later lw versions has multiply/extend/thicken.
    click and drag or hit "n" for numeric and change values from there.

  3. #3
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    I’m talking about a mod that has already bred made. I need to make the walls of a cable thinner.

  4. #4
    If you made it with RopeEditor, you can change any parameter after the fact.
    IF not, you will have to manually do it or re-do it.

    I am not aware of any other plugin on LW that works this way in modeler and has such a modelling history.
    Robert

  5. #5
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,079
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony3d View Post
    I’m talking about a mod that has already bred made. I need to make the walls of a cable thinner.
    Point normal move will do it. You may have to detach the inner part of the insulation from the outer part at the ends.

  6. #6
    Super Member omichon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bordeaux, FR
    Posts
    745
    Smooth Scale sounds like another option. Anyway, it is a tool I will try in a case like this.
    www.oliviermichon.fr | 3D Animation, Motion Graphics and Broadcast Design.

  7. #7
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,288
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony3d View Post
    I’m talking about a mod that has already bred made. I need to make the walls of a cable thinner.
    In that case, as XswampyX and omichon says, preferably point normal move, or smooth scale.
    Modify tab/translate/more/point normal move

  8. #8
    Registered User Tony3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    1,724
    Thanks everyone. I’ll check it out tomorrow!

  9. #9
    Point normal move and smooth scale can sometimes be a tiny bit flaky. You can still use them but I suggest that you create some polygons and shapes in a background layer as reference so that everything lines up when you adjust your 'wall' thickness for your mesh. If your mesh is complex then it might get tricky but not impossible. You might have to tweak points afterwards depending on how misaligned things can get after you use point normal move or smooth scale, though.

    Cheers,
    Revanto
    ---------------------
    I'm a Mega 3D dude!!!
    ---------------------
    Check out my friend's OLD Youtube tutorials
    Mix Mash's tutes

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •