Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: db&w nodeMeister 2018 has been released

  1. #1
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645

    Lightbulb db&w nodeMeister 2018 has been released

    We're proud to announce the release of nodeMeister 2018.

    nodeMeister allows you to create global node graphs in Layout that can be referenced in other node graphs using a node. Effectively this acts a lot like a native compound node, except that the contained graph is shared.

    Often parts of a node graph need to be reused in another graph. This could be a set of procedurals driving a displacement as well as instances or a complex nodal motion applied to multiple items.

    https://www.db-w.com/23-frontpage/26...er-is-released

    If you have any questions feel free to give me a shout.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  2. #2
    Globally Illuminated The Dommo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    813
    Ooooh... shiny...
    BRACE MEDIA
    Ensuring every picture tells your story.

    New Brace Media website

  3. #3
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dommo View Post
    Ooooh... shiny...
    It can be your precccioussss as well.

  4. #4
    Vacant, pretty vacant pinkmouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,703
    Darn it Mike, I'd just written off LW and moved on, and you release this!
    Al
    "I conceive of nothing, in religion, science or philosophy, that is more than the proper thing to wear, for a while." Charles Fort

    My Website
    My Lightwave Tutorials

  5. #5
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkmouse View Post
    Darn it Mike, I'd just written off LW and moved on, and you release this!
    Oy, are you blaming me now?

    Cheers,
    Mike

  6. #6
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    3,095
    Damn your eyes Mike, thats two i now have to get this week, oh my bank account i can hear it groaning.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2019.03

    Very nice Laptop

  7. #7
    Super Member Chris S. (Fez)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,985
    Excellent. Can Nodemeister nodes be nested? Does Nodemeister work with Octane?

  8. #8
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris S. (Fez) View Post
    Excellent. Can Nodemeister nodes be nested? Does Nodemeister work with Octane?
    Yes, no.

    I want to see if Juanjo and I can work something out to make it happen - but no promises at this time.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  9. #9
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,693
    Guessing it works _only_ with LW2018? Or does it work with LW2015.3 as well?

    Also, what's the render node versus workstation story? Will it allow unserialized render node to load but not edit, or...?
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  10. #10
    A.K.A "The Silver Fox" Gungho3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oztralia
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf View Post
    Yes, no.

    I want to see if Juanjo and I can work something out to make it happen - but no promises at this time.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Ahh ... ok, if/when/as this is possible regards Octane, it would be massively helpful.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    647
    Instanced node networks! This is solves one of my main gripes with lightwaves nodal solution.

  12. #12
    great idea, congratulations for this release. if this is going to work with octane i will buy it!
    3dworks visual computing
    demo reel on vimeo
    instagram

    OSX 10.12.x, macpro 5.1, nvidia gtx 980 ti, LW2015.x / 2018.x, octane 3.x

  13. #13
    Super Member omichon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bordeaux, FR
    Posts
    735
    Yes, congrats for this new product, that for sure will improve experience with 2018 and complex nodal setups ! If (or when) it could work with any 3rd party nodes (not specifically Octane), I will be in, too.
    www.oliviermichon.fr | 3D Animation, Motion Graphics and Broadcast Design.

  14. #14
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Guessing it works _only_ with LW2018? Or does it work with LW2015.3 as well?

    Also, what's the render node versus workstation story? Will it allow unserialized render node to load but not edit, or...?
    Only 2018 - and to be more precise, even only 2018.0.3 and higher. I didn't want to compromise on functionality. Also, the nodal system in 2018 is very different to 2015 in some key places.

    As with all of our plugins, you can load, save and render without a license. However, the GUI will be disabled.
    in nodeMeister it is a little different, since the controls added due to the used node graph will also be available without a license. But you can't edit the underlying node graph itself.

    Thanks for the heads up though, I'll clarify that on the website as well.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  15. #15
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,645
    Quote Originally Posted by omichon View Post
    Yes, congrats for this new product, that for sure will improve experience with 2018 and complex nodal setups ! If (or when) it could work with any 3rd party nodes (not specifically Octane), I will be in, too.
    It does work with any third party node - but not with any third party, custom connection (inputs/outputs) - which is one of the two issues regarding Octane.
    The other being that Octane can't see which node graph is used by nodeMeister, since the Octane plugin needs to translate the LW node graph into an Octane specific node graph to be used for rendering.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Last edited by Lightwolf; 05-01-2018 at 07:28 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •