Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

Thread: Spark MAC Address

  1. #16
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandon Rohde View Post
    Would it help if I sent one in? I have about 4 weeks until the next event.
    That might be very helpful - does yours fail fairly consistently?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    21
    The last I heard was the engineering team had confirmed it was a bug (That was on the 11th June from support by email).

  3. #18
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Neither QA nor CS have had much success replicating the issue. There is already one unit in transit, but I'd still like an answer to my question in case we find another would be helpful.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Neither QA nor CS have had much success replicating the issue. There is already one unit in transit, but I'd still like an answer to my question in case we find another would be helpful.
    It happens across all our units every time. We have 5 currently.
    Michael Valentine
    Global Head of Broadcast Technology @ Gfinity

  5. #20
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Yeah, and yet we have a terrible time trying to reproduce the issue, hence my question.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Yeah, and yet we have a terrible time trying to reproduce the issue, hence my question.
    We're happy to send in a unit as well if that helps.
    Michael Valentine
    Global Head of Broadcast Technology @ Gfinity

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    21
    Got this back from support today

    "I am informed the Spark is not necessarily designed to hold or change the Mac Address. However, you can request for them to stay put as a feature request via here: https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp?pg=pgPublicEdit"
    Michael Valentine
    Global Head of Broadcast Technology @ Gfinity

  8. #23
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Nah, that's messed up. Do you have a CS case ticket number?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    41
    Were you able to get a device back that does this? I can send one if if necessary. I mentioned that earlier, and then failed to reply further.

  10. #25
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Nah, that's messed up. Do you have a CS case ticket number?
    Quoting myself for agreement.

    So the good news is, we have firmware that reportedly fixes this, and which will doubtless be released anon.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Quoting myself for agreement.

    So the good news is, we have firmware that reportedly fixes this, and which will doubtless be released anon.
    Awesome to hear!

  12. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Quoting myself for agreement.

    So the good news is, we have firmware that reportedly fixes this, and which will doubtless be released anon.
    Just got another email saying the same thing. Phew
    Michael Valentine
    Global Head of Broadcast Technology @ Gfinity

  13. #28
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,395
    Quote Originally Posted by Meekel View Post
    Just got another email saying the same thing. Phew
    Sorry about the confusion.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  14. #29
    There is new Spark HDMI firmware available for download, version 0934. Not sure if this new Spark firmware apply to above information.
    The website hasn't been updated yet, just click the download button to get it. Spark SDI firmware is still the same version.

    http://new.tk/NCSinfo

    Update: New firmware appears to turn off the 'Connect-Spark' SSID that was appearing when the unit was operating.
    Last edited by kanep; 07-23-2018 at 09:53 AM.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  15. #30
    NewTek Engineering QA VideoEng QA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    163
    The latest Spark HDMI firmware 0934 that was recently released corrects the problem some users were encountering where the MAC address would change on reboot (as described in this thread).

    If anyone has an SDI Spark that has this problem where the MAC address changes after every reboot, please email us directly here and reference this post.

    Up until this point the reports we have received have been only on HDMI models. Our internal test results showed this was only an issue on certain HDMI Sparks, not on SDI models. We would be very interested in speaking with anyone who has a SDI Spark (running the latest SDI firmware 0483) that is encountering this issue.
    NewTek Engineering QA
    For bug reports, feature requests, or technical inquiries: https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp?pg=pgPublicEdit

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •