Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Who's Ready for a Linux-based TriCaster?

  1. #1
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390

    Who's Ready for a Linux-based TriCaster?

    Anyone interested in seeing future TriCasters based on CentOS or something equally as stable and light weight?
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  2. #2
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install newtek-tricaster
    Darn, doesn't work yet!
    Last edited by kanep; 04-05-2018 at 03:12 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install newtek-tricaster
    Darn, doesn't work yet!
    If at first you don't succeed!
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    184
    Yes please. Windows has caused way more issues with our TriCasters than anything Newtek's ever done!
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    965
    I don't recall our Amiga video toaster ever insisting on new graphics card drivers or throwing an update warning in the middle of a show. Maybe get back to that platform?
    E. Lee Dickinson | President
    Advanced Visual Production | sound.lighting.video.design
    www.avprva.com

    Tricaster 850, 460AE, and TC-1
    JVC GY-HM200u, Canon XLH1, Fieldcast and BMD Fiber

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    559
    I would feel a lot better linux based. Not sure what the support is like in terms of the video cards. I believe most of the heavy lifting is done there with directX i think.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    london
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by csandy View Post
    Anyone interested in seeing future TriCasters based on CentOS or something equally as stable and light weight?
    Well its not Linux but its a Virtual Machine:
    https://www.newtek.com/blog/newtek-v...s-at-nab-2018/

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by livepad View Post
    Well its not Linux but its a Virtual Machine:
    https://www.newtek.com/blog/newtek-v...s-at-nab-2018/

    Your host OS needs to update and so does your VM :-D

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    184
    No it's a proprietary "hypervizer" :P
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  10. #10
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    336
    Quote Originally Posted by csandy View Post
    Anyone interested in seeing future TriCasters based on CentOS or something equally as stable and light weight?
    +1 from us!

    Stable and lightweight. (with lightweight being optional)

    Andrew
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  11. #11
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    Quote Originally Posted by lukerctv View Post
    No it's a proprietary "hypervizer" :P
    No, it actually isn't running in a proprietary hypervisor it works with a variety of off the shelf virtual environments.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    184


    I was just making fun of the silly typo
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  13. #13
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    Ah yes, good catch.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    965
    Anything that doesn't pop up, in the middle of a production, "Updates are ready for your computer!" with no option to dismiss other than "View" would sure be better for my blood pressure.

    Luckily clicking "view" - the only option I had - didn't do anything. I guess it opened under the UI.
    E. Lee Dickinson | President
    Advanced Visual Production | sound.lighting.video.design
    www.avprva.com

    Tricaster 850, 460AE, and TC-1
    JVC GY-HM200u, Canon XLH1, Fieldcast and BMD Fiber

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,919
    Yeah, that has to go ... seriously annoying.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •