Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: M/E Output with Alpha

  1. #1
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,615

    M/E Output with Alpha

    I'd like to be able to build complex graphics using an M/E then feed that to a DSK WITH an Alpha channel. Currently the output of the M/E has a black background.

    The simplest way to do this is to simply honor the alpha data in the last M/E layer the same way you do the other seven layers. Add a check box to disable this function for those occasions when you want a black background.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,374
    I understand what you're asking for, but just want to mention that you can kind of do this now using the M/E's LiveMatte features - not the same, but useful anyway.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,615
    Yeah, I'm just imagining a big macro driven sports scoreboard system with no external computer necessary. Everything is there ( 8 layers, comps, animated buffers etc.) to implement it except the alpha channel from the M/E.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Nashua, NH
    Posts
    30
    Is there a tutorial / quick tip to the Live Matte Feature somewhere?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,640
    Live Matte tutorial video: https://vimeo.com/90171613
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    297
    I used the alpha method but it also meant no transparencies in the items in the ME

  7. #7
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    499
    What if you right click on the preview monitor, select say M/E1, click on the gear and access LiveMatte for the M/E?
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Nashua, NH
    Posts
    30
    @Stream - I've done this before adding an additional layer to a default Live set with a solid 'Key' Color from a buffer with sometimes effective results. Earlier I missed the fact that LiveMatte is what they Keying technology is called.

    Under an ME / Live Set Picker / Utilities - there is a Garbage Matte and Inhibit Matte - Does anyone know how these are used and if they are useful in the above situation?

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,374
    My recollection is that these are basically inversions of one anther. On uses a layer to act as a typical garbage matte for the key, while the other prevents the keyer from removing background color where the matte layer is opaque.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •