Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Plug-in ExportFBX failed to start.

  1. #1
    Member snsmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    200

    Plug-in ExportFBX failed to start.

    Is anyone experiencing any problems with the FBX export functionality in Layout? (Lightwave 2018.0.1 Win 64)

    When I use the Save->Export->ExportFBX with varying options I got an error dialog box with, "Plug-in ExportFBX failed to start."

    Here are my steps(I've simplified this):

    1) Create a cube in Modeller
    2) Create a uvmap (I just used an atlas type uv unwrap)
    3) Save
    4) Send to Layout
    5) Use the Save->Export->ExportFBX option
    6) Check the following:
    Models
    Morphs
    Materials
    Embedded Textures
    Type: Binary
    FBX Version: I've 2010 and 2016.
    (everything else unchecked)

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,922
    Not sure if your problem is similar to mine?

    My LightWave modeller 2015 stopped writing FBX files completely, and has been like that for YEARS!

    I found a registry entry for Valkyrie, which controls all of LightWave's exporting options... deleted all the registry keys inside there, and now FBX works perfectly.
    I'm soooo pleased. Something must have got corrupt somehow, but now it's all good!

    The registry key can be found under:
    HKEY_CURRENT _USER/Software/NewTek/Valkyrie/

    If you're not confident messing with the registry, probably best to leave it alone.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3
    Member snsmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    200
    I tried deleting the Valkyrie keys, but no go. It did work a few times after installation, but then wouldn't export anything.

  4. #4
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,922
    Oh wow... That's weird.
    So, what's your issue. It won't expire fbx from Layout or Modeller 2015?

    Do you have 2018 and does that work?
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  5. #5
    I have the same problem.

    When I installed LW 2018.0, LW 2015.3 stopped exporting FBX files. LW2018 can expor FBX File
    I have another computer with a second licence, It don't have installed LW 2018, and LW 2015.3 export FBX file.

  6. #6
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,922
    I think 2018 overwrites the 2015 reg keys with info that causes 2015 not to understand what to do.

    Did you delete the registry keys and then try 2015 without opening 2018?
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  7. #7
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,043
    Those 6 steps work for me on both 2015.3 and 2018.0.1.

    Other things to consider...
    • Reload/refresh all plugins.
    • Make sure only one version of LW is running at a time as there could be hiccups with Hub.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    I think 2018 overwrites the 2015 reg keys with info that causes 2015 not to understand what to do.

    Did you delete the registry keys and then try 2015 without opening 2018?
    I didn't do that, Because I don't know where the file is. I'm working on mac OS.
    I reinstall LW 2015.3, and it start again export FBX File. But When I export an FBX file in LW 2018.01, LW 2015.3, stopped working export FBX file

  9. #9
    ArchVis Modeler Ron Schatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Elgin IL Chicagoland
    Posts
    67
    Spent 2 days on this, 2018 writes to the reg somewhere,
    If you export above FBX201400, in LWM 2018 it notes that, so when you export out of LWM 2015 it tries to write the file but can't because it doesn't know how to.
    2015 reads the Valkyrie settings but not write to them(on my LWM 2015, is was only set to FBX201100)
    To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX
    3 of my computers could export FBX till I notice 18 was the new kid and that it's setting were remembered in the export window, something 15 didn't do.
    Uninstalling LW 15 or 18 does not fix this without a reg cleaning, I needed to reinstall 18 just change the Valkyrie setting.
    All computers are Windows 10pro64
    I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it.

    Now SUFACES, bricks, siding, roofs, walks.... dang this is getting harder than should, node the new 4 letter
    Ron Schatz
    Image Grille
    www.imagegrille.com

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Schatz View Post
    Spent 2 days on this, 2018 writes to the reg somewhere,
    If you export above FBX201400, in LWM 2018 it notes that, so when you export out of LWM 2015 it tries to write the file but can't because it doesn't know how to.
    2015 reads the Valkyrie settings but not write to them(on my LWM 2015, is was only set to FBX201100)
    To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX
    3 of my computers could export FBX till I notice 18 was the new kid and that it's setting were remembered in the export window, something 15 didn't do.
    Uninstalling LW 15 or 18 does not fix this without a reg cleaning, I needed to reinstall 18 just change the Valkyrie setting.
    All computers are Windows 10pro64
    I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it.

    Now SUFACES, bricks, siding, roofs, walks.... dang this is getting harder than should, node the new 4 letter
    Thanks this is the right way

  11. #11
    Member snsmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    Oh wow... That's weird.
    So, what's your issue. It won't expire fbx from Layout or Modeller 2015?

    Do you have 2018 and does that work?
    I've got LW2018.0.1. Modeller will export fine, but Layout will not. I've tried clearing the Valkyrie keys and even exporting using a lower FBX version on the Export FBX dialog box, but that doesn't work.

    Any other ideas? From some of the other posts it doesn't sound like a reinstall is going to help.

    -Shawn

  12. #12
    Member snsmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by snsmoore View Post
    I've got LW2018.0.1. Modeller will export fine, but Layout will not. I've tried clearing the Valkyrie keys and even exporting using a lower FBX version on the Export FBX dialog box, but that doesn't work.

    Any other ideas? From some of the other posts it doesn't sound like a reinstall is going to help.

    -Shawn
    Wow, full uninstall of both 2015 and 2018 and clearing of Valkyrie keys did NOT solve the problem.

    Argh!

    Any other ideas?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,064
    i’ve just hit this wall today too. will nt do a patch for 2015.3? updated valkyrie plugin perhaps?

  14. #14
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,043
    Quote Originally Posted by snsmoore View Post
    Wow, full uninstall of both 2015 and 2018 and clearing of Valkyrie keys did NOT solve the problem.

    Argh!

    Any other ideas?
    You should not need to clear registry keys. The fact that you are replying to that concept suggests you have not yet tried the important info in Ron Schatz's post #9.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Schatz View Post
    ...To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX...I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it...

  15. #15
    Member snsmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    200
    Problem solved. I think it's a bug in Lightwave. If you try to export an fbx in Layout to another drive (my physical F: drive) it will fail. If I change to export to a destination of c:\temp it is fine.

    Hope that helps others.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •