Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Instancing issues with 2018 - distance to null(s) via gradient is broken

  1. #1
    areté adk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,505

    Instancing issues with 2018 - distance to null(s) via gradient is broken

    Hi folks,

    If anyone is driving instance weight with distance to null(s) via a gradient it seems that the entire thing is broken in 2018.

    In 2015 you can layer up multiple nulls in the weight texture with a gradient-distance to object option and use the various blending options to your hearts content.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Instance_Weight_Via_Nulls.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	192.4 KB 
ID:	139747

    In 2018 only the one null comes through as you can see in the gif...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Instance_Issues.gif 
Views:	47 
Size:	202.4 KB 
ID:	139745

    That's pretty broken from my perspective so just a heads up.

    I'll flag this with NT / LW3DG in whatever the new procedure / system is.

    Both scenes attached for whoever wants to test this.

    Cheers


    ALSO : Why is my droplet visible in 2015 (the central object) yet in 2018 its completely invisible and only a bounding box ? Both scenes have exactly the same setup / flags ?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by adk; 01-25-2018 at 04:41 PM.

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    Forget about traditional layering/texturing system,
    go to Nodes tab, enable them,
    and set up Math > Vector > Distance, 1st input from Item Info, pick up Null item, World Position,
    then to Gradient,
    then to Weight input in nodes..
    Last edited by Sensei; 01-25-2018 at 05:23 PM.

  3. #3
    areté adk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,505
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Forget traditional layering/texturing system,
    go to Nodes tab, enable them,
    and set up Math > Vector > Distance to Item Info Null World Position,
    then to Gradient,
    then to Weight input in nodes..
    Thanks Sensei. Yeah I 100% realise I can drive it through nodes.
    But it would still be good for this to work as expected when I'm moving scenes across from 2015 into 2018.

    Surely that's still a bug regardless of the alternative - nodal approach. Would be good to get that confirmed either way.
    Seems under-hood changes affected more than simply rendering and materials.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,847
    id rather set that up in the layers node as shown in the original post. simpler, faster.

  5. #5
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    15,118
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    id rather set that up in the layers node as shown in the original post. simpler, faster.
    True...that is sort of what worries me now that is actually taking place.. with the change of ways to work, and having to enter nodal for most things...that is what I was worried about previously when nodes initially was implemented, if they can not provide interface built around nodes, with controls to acess these stuff in easier ways rather than building things up each time, then I will be really sad and discouraged to work with Lightwave.

    Sensei has however suggested future enhancement for nodes to become compiled and more easier to work with.

    I wonder if this still works, will have to check if discovery edition is capable of it...



  6. #6
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    You can build your node setups, put them to Compound (optional), and Edit > Export Selected to some file on disk.. then whenever you need the same setup, simply import from file..

  7. #7
    Wouldn't it be better if they could be saved directly to the Preset Shelf?

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,847
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    True...that is sort of what worries me now that is actually taking place.. with the change of ways to work, and having to enter nodal for most things...that is what I was worried about previously when nodes initially was implemented, if they can not provide interface built around nodes, with controls to acess these stuff in easier ways rather than building things up each time, then I will be really sad and discouraged to work with Lightwave.

    Sensei has however suggested future enhancement for nodes to become compiled and more easier to work with.

    I wonder if this still works, will have to check if discovery edition is capable of it...


    i was hoping newtek were going to have stacked layers with specified channels and blending modes, such as diffuse set to overlay, like modo does for simple. images can be drag and dropped in from external browsers and apps for speed, in addition to the node system, for complex stuff.

  9. #9
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,507
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesCurtis View Post
    Wouldn't it be better if they could be saved directly to the Preset Shelf?
    The preset shelf doesn't really show enough info to differentiate between more than a few such entries (name just isn't enough), nor does it offer useful filtering/searching. It's okay for situations where you might have up to say a dozen of something (within a category) where names (and thumbnail imgs where viable) offer decent differentiation, but as a general "content browser" it quickly becomes a confusing mess of similar entries.

    Ability to deal with lots of different, varied types of assets/content, with rich metadata, searching/filtering, etc. is what drove most other packages to implement asset library / content browser functionality. Newtek is long overdue for adding similar to LW, they're quite "direct" to implement.
    Last edited by jwiede; 01-31-2018 at 06:17 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •