Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 367

Thread: OD 2018 Tool Set Released - And Now OD 2019!

  1. #91
    Quote Originally Posted by c.1 View Post
    I have been having an issue trying to get the HUGE pack of lights to show up in the preset shelf, I am pretty sure I f’k up somewhere but I will try again and see how it goes. If not I will send you an email. I only put it here because I can’t be the only one, but maybe the only one to say something, but thats how I roll.
    Great stuff, and a wicked deal if anyone is on the fence about buying.
    I'm not aware of any issues with the IES presets.. just make sure you put them in the right folder as described in the email... you should then see the subfolders once you go into the preset shelf...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by jaf View Post
    I noticed the 15-feb-2018 update menu's for Modeler and Layout are all named OD_2018 -- used to be OD_2015 and OD_2018 for Modeler and same for Layout. Is this on purpose?
    nothing has changed there.. there's a layout menu for both lw 2015 and 2018, as well as a modeler menu for lw 2015 and 2018... as well as the "generic" menu
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  2. #92
    Animated Fool paulhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    758
    I rename them in the order I install with names like, "OD_Gen2015, OD_2015, and OD_2018" just to keep them separate on the top bar. I looked into the .cfg file on one of them to see if there was some easy way to do this before installing, but, alas, I did not see any easy indication. The tools are great!! Well worth it, and Origami Digital is totally on top of getting fixes and updates, including additions. I am looking forward to his release of the Substance link tool. Maybe they can make a simple adjustment in the files so that they come out named coherently?? Not a big deal, but curiously noted.
    An eye for an eye, and the whole world goes blind... Gandhi/MLKing
    Greater consciousness is worth the effort. Be aware.... so sayest the Animated Fool ~ HARTWORKS www.hartworks.net

  3. #93
    Quote Originally Posted by paulhart View Post
    I rename them in the order I install with names like, "OD_Gen2015, OD_2015, and OD_2018" just to keep them separate on the top bar. I looked into the .cfg file on one of them to see if there was some easy way to do this before installing, but, alas, I did not see any easy indication. The tools are great!! Well worth it, and Origami Digital is totally on top of getting fixes and updates, including additions. I am looking forward to his release of the Substance link tool. Maybe they can make a simple adjustment in the files so that they come out named coherently?? Not a big deal, but curiously noted.
    I am not sure how i could have made it more clear than it is

    https://vimeo.com/album/4335852/video/250220370
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  4. #94
    Deedle Eedle Eet c.1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    278
    I am pretty sure that I sh*t the bed on the first install of OToolset and didn't install the accompanying software.....I am doing a clean install of Lw2015 and LW2018 this weekend, if I still can’t extract my head from my arse I will let you know Oliver.

    Oh yeah and I know some stuff only works in LW 2018.

    Sorry another edit....some cfg files go into the LW2018.01 folder but within that is a config folder so......”where you put your config files” could be either one (the config folder didn’t work for the licence file ) for the ODtoolset....not bitchin’ just pointing out that there are actually 2 config locations. Again probably just me with my head up my arse......is there an emoji for that?
    Last edited by c.1; 02-15-2018 at 11:40 PM.
    Don't be a dink get some ink

  5. #95
    Animated Fool paulhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    758
    It is always utterly clear to developers, and they are often confounded at the 'density' of their users. I have been with Lightwave since the 'dawn of time,' but, oh well. Case in point. I just watched the video, and it was very helpful, thank you. I had not thought it necessary to watch a video to install menu items, as I have done it so many times. However, the confusion emerges when the User, (me, without having it thought to be necessary to watch a video before installing menu items) see the folder with three(3) items to install, TabGeneric, Tab2015, and Tab2018, so, of course, I install all of them, thinking that each has a separate set of tools, only now realizing, it was an either/or choice. To make it more confusing, the TabGeneric, after installing, then shows up as OD2015, with no reference to Generic. I have now installed the correct set of menus (I think), following the video. Maybe this helps you the developer, to see where the misapprehension might have been generated. And, yes, RTM (Read the Manual or Video in this case) is always helpful, but I did not think I had done anything 'wrong' until after watching the video . . . so it goes, in the dance of Developer and Clueless User.
    An eye for an eye, and the whole world goes blind... Gandhi/MLKing
    Greater consciousness is worth the effort. Be aware.... so sayest the Animated Fool ~ HARTWORKS www.hartworks.net

  6. #96
    Quote Originally Posted by c.1 View Post
    I am pretty sure that I sh*t the bed on the first install of OToolset and didn't install the accompanying software.....I am doing a clean install of Lw2015 and LW2018 this weekend, if I still can’t extract my head from my arse I will let you know Oliver.

    Oh yeah and I know some stuff only works in LW 2018.

    Sorry another edit....some cfg files go into the LW2018.01 folder but within that is a config folder so......”where you put your config files” could be either one (the config folder didn’t work for the licence file ) for the ODtoolset....not bitchin’ just pointing out that there are actually 2 config locations. Again probably just me with my head up my arse......is there an emoji for that?
    yes.. i know there's another config folder within the config folder, which is annoying, but, precisely the reason, why I state "where the lw2018 config file is localted.. and there's only one location.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by paulhart View Post
    It is always utterly clear to developers, and they are often confounded at the 'density' of their users. I have been with Lightwave since the 'dawn of time,' but, oh well. Case in point. I just watched the video, and it was very helpful, thank you. I had not thought it necessary to watch a video to install menu items, as I have done it so many times. However, the confusion emerges when the User, (me, without having it thought to be necessary to watch a video before installing menu items) see the folder with three(3) items to install, TabGeneric, Tab2015, and Tab2018, so, of course, I install all of them, thinking that each has a separate set of tools, only now realizing, it was an either/or choice. To make it more confusing, the TabGeneric, after installing, then shows up as OD2015, with no reference to Generic. I have now installed the correct set of menus (I think), following the video. Maybe this helps you the developer, to see where the misapprehension might have been generated. And, yes, RTM (Read the Manual or Video in this case) is always helpful, but I did not think I had done anything 'wrong' until after watching the video . . . so it goes, in the dance of Developer and Clueless User.
    no problem.. its hard these days to get people to read past 144 characters .. but.. most important thing is, you got it
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  7. #97
    Registered User jaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by jaf View Post
    I noticed the 15-feb-2018 update menu's for Modeler and Layout are all named OD_2018 -- used to be OD_2015 and OD_2018 for Modeler and same for Layout. Is this on purpose?
    Sorry -- yesterday was a bad day. I had read the install 2018 instructions when I purchased OD_2018 and had no problems installing everything. And the next 9 or 10 updates too. I knew I should see a 2015 and 2018 tab, so I forgot the 2015 one was the generic and was choosing the OD_2015 by mistake.
    13Jan2020: Lightwave 2019.1.4 Build 3133, win10 pro 1909 build 535, AMD Ryzen 1800+, 64 GB mem, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 ti v441.81 (13Jan2020)

  8. #98
    Quote Originally Posted by jaf View Post
    Sorry -- yesterday was a bad day. I had read the install 2018 instructions when I purchased OD_2018 and had no problems installing everything. And the next 9 or 10 updates too. I knew I should see a 2015 and 2018 tab, so I forgot the 2015 one was the generic and was choosing the OD_2015 by mistake.
    its no prob... i am thinking of writing something that in the future, will just install the menu's for you.. but I want to get something else out first.
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  9. #99
    Another Quicky addition to the toolset:

    https://vimeo.com/256487118
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  10. #100
    New Layout tool coming to OD2018 tomorrow. That should make it much easier and more efficient to adjust values that are enveloped.

    https://vimeo.com/album/4335852/video/258030331
    Oliver

    OD Tools Purchase Link: http://origamidigital.com/cart
    Vimeo Channel: https://vimeo.com/channels/850417
    Join ODRoot - https://www.odroot.com

  11. #101
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,674
    Quote Originally Posted by oliverhotz View Post
    New Layout tool coming to OD2018 tomorrow. That should make it much easier and more efficient to adjust values that are enveloped.

    https://vimeo.com/album/4335852/video/258030331
    Glad you're providing this kind of stuff, but hopefully Newtek are also paying attention. Many of these things you're highlighting are areas where LW's native UX is quite inefficient, and having _native_ ability to set these kinds of things without resorting to secondary editor panels (or paid third-party plugins) would yield major UX improvement. Again, I'm glad you're providing it, but I'd much rather see Newtek provide efficient native equivalents for some of these "basic UX" enhancements. In many cases, native versions could be even more efficient than yours, because they can just "fix" the base UI issue itself, not have to add a workaround.

    For example, C4D and many other pkgs work in the manner you'd hoped in the video (you just change the values in UI and set keyframes). Users only have to resort to graph editing if they wish to modify the actual interpolation curves, which is much more convenient and efficient workflow in the majority of use cases. LW's become a bit too dependent on forcing users into the graph editor (and other secondary editor panels) to make such changes, and that makes for a more cumbersome UX/workflow in many cases, as you noticed.
    Last edited by jwiede; 03-10-2018 at 04:48 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  12. #102
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,981
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Glad you're providing this kind of stuff, but hopefully Newtek are also paying attention. Many of these things you're highlighting are areas where LW's native UX is quite inefficient, and having _native_ ability to set these kinds of things without resorting to secondary editor panels (or paid third-party plugins) would yield major UX improvement. Again, I'm glad you're providing it, but I'd much rather see Newtek provide efficient native equivalents for some of these "basic UX" enhancements.

    For example, C4D and many other pkgs work in the manner you'd hoped in the video (you just change the values in UI and set keyframes). Users only have to resort to graph editing if they wish to modify the actual interpolation curves, which is much more convenient and efficient workflow in the majority of use cases. LW's become a bit too dependent on forcing users into the graph editor (and other secondary editor panels) to make such changes, and that makes for a more cumbersome UX/workflow in many cases, as you noticed.
    +1 unfortunately this is newtek. just look at the missing functionality in 2018 with the dropping of x32 and the new shading system. it’s always 3rd party that makes lightwave have the features you really need
    Last edited by gar26lw; 03-10-2018 at 04:21 PM.

  13. #103
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    1,645
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Glad you're providing this kind of stuff, but hopefully Newtek are also paying attention. Many of these things you're highlighting are areas where LW's native UX is quite inefficient, and having _native_ ability to set these kinds of things without resorting to secondary editor panels (or paid third-party plugins) would yield major UX improvement. Again, I'm glad you're providing it, but I'd much rather see Newtek provide efficient native equivalents for some of these "basic UX" enhancements. In many cases, native versions could be even more efficient than yours, because they can just "fix" the base UI issue itself, not have to add a workaround.

    For example, C4D and many other pkgs work in the manner you'd hoped in the video (you just change the values in UI and set keyframes). Users only have to resort to graph editing if they wish to modify the actual interpolation curves, which is much more convenient and efficient workflow in the majority of use cases. LW's become a bit too dependent on forcing users into the graph editor (and other secondary editor panels) to make such changes, and that makes for a more cumbersome UX/workflow in many cases, as you noticed.
    +1 Absolutely agree. It's one example besides countless other use cases that are solved much smarter in other 3d packages. To me LW has the most tedious workflow / UX and non-intuitive UI of all general purpose 3d applications I have used.

    While I appreciate Oliver's efforts and I'm always looking forward to try out his new features, it cannot be the solution to rely on hundreds isolated 3rd party plugins and workarounds due to NewTek's epic fail to improve the usability.

  14. #104
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,695
    And yet we get the tools, and cheap too! Thanks Oliver.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

  15. #105
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,981
    yeah it’s nice to have them and we all appreciate the efforts and support him but what happens when oliver stops or nt changes something that breaks them?

    pictrix, dpont, plg, fi’s, worley, ifw, etc, etc

    no. just no. nt need to stop relying on this stuff and start adding it to the base package.

    personally i’d rather have had all dev thrown into this instead of a pathtracer.

Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •