Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Image Crop Surface Editor Node

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573

    Image Crop Surface Editor Node

    Hi All

    Does anyone know if there is a node plugin that will crop an image in the surface node editor?
    I have an image that I only want to use a part of and then have that repeat. For example lets say I have an image that is 1000px X 1000px but I want the image node to only use 750px X 750px of it.
    Is there something that will do that? Native or Plugin?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,897
    Literal cropping of image would require allocating new image, with new size, and copying data from one to another.
    Such operation should not be done during rendering.
    It would be no problem making tool (LayoutGeneric) which would take image as argument, and user would specify range, press button and have new image created.

    ps. The first thought was: way not use UV for specifying which part of image is interesting to user...

  3. #3
    Like Sensei mentioned, you can't crop the image data, but you can crop the mapping positions, in this case I'm doing this using the Image node Position input and the Opacity input to switch to something else (red). Scene at: http://jmp.sh/MWNfPo9

    This is something the Image Node itself could include, since while it's simple it can be considered convoluted the way it's being presented here.

    Last edited by probiner; 12-30-2017 at 03:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Literal cropping of image would require allocating new image, with new size, and copying data from one to another.
    Such operation should not be done during rendering.
    It would be no problem making tool (LayoutGeneric) which would take image as argument, and user would specify range, press button and have new image created.

    ps. The first thought was: way not use UV for specifying which part of image is interesting to user...
    Hi Sensei, thanks for your reply
    This might be difficult to explain what I am doing and probably doesn't make any sense any way, but here goes haha
    I was trying to think of a way of creating a brick pattern that doesn't tile (well least for quite a while anyway), so you can use it for close up shots and very wide shots.

    So I have created a mask image that has some random bricks masked out on every other row. And then I have creaed another version of the mask that is cropped at 3/4 of the image. I have then screen blended them together with the smaller one scaled at 75% of the other, so they when they tile the bricks will have the same weave but will have an offset tiling. I hope this makes sense as its quite hard to explain. So then I was thinking that well wouldnt it be even simpler if it was only one mask image, but the second image instance of it was only using 75% of it. I know I might not be making much sense, but I was just trying to make a random brick pattern node that was easy to use. I appreciate that I may not be going about it the best way, but I was just trying it out as an experiment. Here is the surface and images zipped up if you wanted to take a look.

    Bricks_001.zip

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    Like Sensei mentioned, you can't crop the image data, but you can crop the mapping positions, in this case I'm doing this using the Image node Position input and the Opacity input to switch to something else (red). Scene at: http://jmp.sh/MWNfPo9

    This is something the Image Node itself could include, since while it's simple it can be considered convoluted the way it's being presented here.
    Thats so much for your help, thats a great technique, but I don't think that helps with what I am trying to do here.

  6. #6
    Why the different size of the masks? You could get a bunch of them and apply them in a random fashion to different tiles. Or attribute to individual bricks on the texture a ID and mix with repeating tile ID and randomize it.
    https://streamable.com/50l2p

    The best way to go about it would be to have the position of the bricks and use that to randomize position, that way you could even have a tiled procedural look. I had to to actual polygons for this one...
    https://streamable.com/70mli
    Last edited by probiner; 12-30-2017 at 07:50 AM.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    Why the different size of the masks? You could get a bunch of them and apply them in a random fashion to different tiles. Or attribute to individual bricks on the texture a ID and mix with repeating tile ID and randomize it.
    https://streamable.com/50l2p

    The best way to go about it would be to have the position of the bricks and use that to randomize position, that way you could even have a tiled procedural look. I had to to actual polygons for this one...
    https://streamable.com/70mli
    There is clearly something I am missing from LightWave's native nodal capabilities. How are you changing the different bricks to have different colours randomly? Are there any tutorials that you could point me to, to explain how this works? Thanks so much for pointing me in the right direction

  8. #8
    In the first one I painted another texture with integer values for each brick: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and mixed it with the tile integer value [x, y] to create a sort of unique ID that I can then use in a node like "Random Scalar" and "Color Tool". It's a pure texture solution.

    In the second one I did need to cut some rectangles shaped like the bricks so I could get a Position per brick out of them. And with a Position you can do more rich things like remapping a procedural into whole bricks or the previous solution of a single ID. More flexibility. Instead of using real geometry you could always bake a position map and then offset that position with the tiles position.

    Yeah, LW won't be a substance designer, but surely with the right ideas you can implement neat solutions.
    As for material about this there's not much out there I do touch it a little bit in my nodal setups tutorial series from which the videos alone I plan to make public soon.

    Cheers
    Last edited by probiner; 12-30-2017 at 08:20 AM.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    In the first one I painted another texture with integer values for each brick: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and mixed it with the tile integer value [x, y] to create a sort of unique ID that I can then use in a node like "Random Scalar" and "Color Tool". It's a pure texture solution.

    In the second one I did need to cut some rectangles shaped like the bricks so I could get a Position per brick out of them. And with a Position you can do more rich things like remapping a procedural into whole bricks or the previous solution of a single ID. More flexibility. Instead of using real geometry you could always bake a position map and then offset that position with the tiles position.

    Yeah, LW won't be a substance designer, but surely with the right ideas you can implement neat solutions.
    As for material about this there's not much out there I do touch it a little bit in my nodal setups tutorial series from which the videos alone I plan to make public soon.

    Cheers
    Thank you. Something just isn't clicking yet form what you have said, but I will keep reading it and hopefully the penny will drop. I would really like to see those videos

  10. #10
    Yeah this could be fully texture solution if I bothered to cook a position texture instead of using the polygons you see in OGL, but can't be bothered
    https://streamable.com/a6bya

    Cheers

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    Yeah this could be fully texture solution if I bothered to cook a position texture instead of using the polygons you see in OGL, but can't be bothered
    https://streamable.com/a6bya

    Cheers
    I am mostly interetsed in methods without creating polys for every brick

  12. #12
    This is what an Position Map looks like
    https://streamable.com/2ujjg

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    573
    I would love it if the nodes allowed you to be able to generate shapes and ways of duplicating them based on UV space etc, affecting size, position and rotation etc purely just from nodes.

  14. #14
    This is what an Position Map looks like
    https://streamable.com/rg8m3

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    565
    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    this is what an position map looks like
    https://streamable.com/rg8m3
    wow
    English is not my native language so please be patient.

    Salvador Ureņa
    http://urenasalvador.wixsite.com/portfolio

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •