Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Skript for switch Instances visibility ???

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    61

    Skript for switch Instances visibility ???

    Hello,
    I have a question about the script makers. Could anyone create a script that would bulk the visibility of the Instances? Preferably according to the visibility of the parent.
    Example:
    If we have a null point with Shade visibility set, then all instances generated in the Instances Generator of this null point will also shadow Shade visibility.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,795
    Without a script, you can select all the Objects added to the Instancer by selecting the first one, holding down SHIFT and selecting the last one. Then, whatever visibility you set on any one of them will effect all of them.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BulkInstanceVisibility_001_NoneSelected.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	989.0 KB 
ID:	138756 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BulkInstanceVisibility_002_FirstSelected.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	1,017.6 KB 
ID:	138757

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BulkInstanceVisibility_003_AllSelected.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	1.05 MB 
ID:	138758 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BulkInstanceVisibility_004_ChangeAllToWireframe.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	1.03 MB 
ID:	138759

    mTp

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    61
    Sorry ... this course of course I know!

    I'm going to simplify the bulk switching without having to go into the Instancer Generator.
    Imagine a scene where you have different plants cloned using Instances at a null point. In a normal procedure it means going inside Instancer Generator and switching visibility, close and go to the next null point. When I decide for another visibility, I have to go through it again.
    My vision is that the instance behave according to the parent object. Visibility is just one item. Similarly, it could transmit the necessary Sketch Color.

  4. #4
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,898
    I tried, but using LWSDK it's not possible.
    However, there is a way to do it, nasty hack way.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Rajce View Post
    Sorry ... this course of course I know!
    ...
    OK, just wanted to make sure.

    The Layout Commands reference for LW 2015 doesn't show any accessible command for modifying the Instancer's visibility, so I don't think an LScript or Python script is possible:

    ObjInstancingEnable nenabled
    Enables or Disables instancing on the object.
    ObjAddInstancedMesh xID
    Adds an item to the list of items used as instances.
    ObjRemoveInstancedMesh xID
    Removes an item from the list of items used as instances.
    ObjInstancePlacementSource xID
    Sets the instancer source item from which the points/polygons/particles are used from.
    ObjInstancePlacementType ntype
    Sets the instancer placement type, which can be Item (0), Points (1), Polygons (2) or Particles (3).


    Using LS Commander, I don't see any accessible commands in either the native Instancer or DP Instancer. Maybe Sensei will give details on the "nasty hack way"!


    mTp
    Last edited by MonroePoteet; 12-08-2017 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Format Layout Commands reference material

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    61
    OMG
    and I'm still using the old 11.6.3
    Well, I can only hope that some Commands added to the new version (God willing and will be)

  7. #7
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    OD Tools has this, not sure if it work on 11.6, though.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    61
    @ raw-m
    Can you tell me exactly which Tool works as I want? I read descriptions of the tools and anything that comes to me working my request.

  9. #9
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    https://vimeo.com/114392749
    https://vimeo.com/114410967

    (Unless I’ve misread!) under the Display options in his menus you’ll see Enable Instances and Disable Instances. Selecting all the items that have Instances attached will turn them on/off with a simple click of a button.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    61
    I'm afraid we do not understand.
    If I understand this, OD Tools allow Enable Instances and Disable Instances. However, the HoS_Toggle_Instances script can also be used.
    However, I need to switch between Visibility types - Bounding Box, Shade, Wire frame, Textured.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •