Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Recording Green in QT Player

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    72

    Recording Green in QT Player

    Hi All,

    When pulling a TC AE recording (MOV) onto my mac with the latest QT installed, the TC footage reads as green.
    Adobe reads it fine, so I am just wondering if there s a new Apple QT codec that I need to install on my mac?
    Has the codec on the TC recording changed at all, with one of the updates or was the change on Mac's side?

    All the best
    Nino

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Malapati View Post
    Hi All,

    When pulling a TC AE recording (MOV) onto my mac with the latest QT installed, the TC footage reads as green.
    Adobe reads it fine, so I am just wondering if there s a new Apple QT codec that I need to install on my mac?
    Has the codec on the TC recording changed at all, with one of the updates or was the change on Mac's side?

    All the best
    Nino
    I literally just posted about this as I'm having the same issue. We always bring TC files into FCP to edit. Audio is fine, but video is green.

    What do you mean Adobe reads it fine? Do you mean Premier, and wouldn't that use the QT codecs too?

    Sounds like there is an issue with Advanced Edition.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by rcebulski View Post
    I literally just posted about this as I'm having the same issue. We always bring TC files into FCP to edit. Audio is fine, but video is green.

    What do you mean Adobe reads it fine? Do you mean Premier, and wouldn't that use the QT codecs too?

    Sounds like there is an issue with Advanced Edition.
    When I pull the footage in to Adobe Premiere Pro it decipheres the footage, but playing it back in QT directly it sees the footage as green only, but with audio.

    The strange thing is that footage recorded on the latest version of Isocorder Pro is read fine by both applications. Which in my opinion points to the TriCaster as opposed to QT

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    2
    Have you guys fixed this by any chance?
    All my TriCaster recorded files are green in Finder or FCPX, and I'm out of ideas.

    I have the codec installed but it seems to make no difference.

  5. #5
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    543
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  6. #6
    Registered User Paris MkVI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    111
    Do you all have the Newtek Tricaster codecs installed on your other machines?
    Tricaster 460
    HD-SDI over coax
    JVC 890 x 2
    Panasonic 370 x 1

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1
    Since I update my TC8000 with advanced edition I've got also this problem.
    Codec are up to date but problem persist.
    Videos are green under QT and FC Pro 7.

    Is there a way to change recordings parameter ?
    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by carlito31 View Post
    Since I update my TC8000 with advanced edition I've got also this problem.
    Codec are up to date but problem persist.
    Videos are green under QT and FC Pro 7.

    Is there a way to change recordings parameter ?
    Thanks.
    What video format are you working in? Here is a list of common formats and compatibly with major NLE systems. FCP7 is really old, so I'm unable to test compatibility with it, it also means that FCP7 hasn't had any updates to deal with the media formats that have occurred in the past 8 years.
    NewTek Recording Formats.pdf
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    AutoWorld
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    What video format are you working in? Here is a list of common formats and compatibly with major NLE systems. FCP7 is really old, so I'm unable to test compatibility with it, it also means that FCP7 hasn't had any updates to deal with the media formats that have occurred in the past 8 years.
    NewTek Recording Formats.pdf
    Has anyone made this to work? I've been going round and round with customer support for more than a week now. I'm disappointed that this issue has been around for more than a year now and customer support hasn't pointed me toward ANY suggestions for a fix.

    I'll try this, but would like to know if anyone else has had success fixing this issue.

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,649
    I'm way out on the thin end of my dendrites here, but my recollection is that FCP7 always provided very limited codec support (being esp. poor at handling MPEG-2), and back in the day the web was full of workarounds, most of which involved conversion ... in witness of which, here is a typical discussion: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2251560

    However it sticks in my mind that at one point it was possible to add a "Pro" codec download from Apple that improved things, which might be worth a try. I think this was it: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1947?locale=en_US
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    AutoWorld
    Posts
    4
    Actually, I just found the issue.

    I wanted a 60fps recording from the Tricaster, and didn't realize that the only 60fps setting was 1080i. The Mac wants progressive. I created a new session at 1080p 30, and the recordings work in the Mac.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •