Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Control surface stopped working.

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470

    Control surface stopped working.

    My control surface worked yesterday. I turned on the TriCaster and today there are no lights on the CS. I then went and uninstalled the usb drivers, shut down and restarted. It now works. Is this common?

  2. #2
    Registered User Paris MkVI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    111
    As long as we're using computers, yes. It wasn't a TriCaster issue, but I have seen many times (usually after OS updates) where I had to uninstall USB drivers and restart to get the system to re-install and recognize externals.

    It is an occasional Windows thing (at least I believe it is). It happens once in a great while.
    Tricaster 460
    HD-SDI over coax
    JVC 890 x 2
    Panasonic 370 x 1

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    Okay. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    319
    We have run into this before on our 8000 CS too. Most of the time, unplugging the power from the CS and plugging it back in seems to fix it

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    470
    I tried unplugging and it didn't help. The only thing that worked it uninstalling the usb drivers.

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,649
    I've seen cases where simply connecting something to a different USB port caused it to be recognized again. I only mention this because it might be faster than working with the driver. There are days when I hate USB ...
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    TriCaster 860 PortaStudio
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mililani, Hawaii
    Posts
    119
    I have recently had all sorts of little problems with my tricaster. Yesterday, my DDR would not playback audio despite it showing levels on the audio mixer. I tried everything physical- wires and whatnot- until my co-worker suggested rebooting. That worked.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •