Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: can I ask a ZBrush question?

  1. #1
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214

    can I ask a ZBrush question?

    Registering for the ZBC forums, the confirmation email was caught up in my spam filters so while I try to sort that out, I'm wondering if someone can answer a quick question for me.

    I'm drawing a curves with an IMM brush and wonder if there's a way I can start the curve then rotate my object to a different angle then continue drawing the curve. I can't find much about this online.

    Thanks!
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  2. #2
    Yes, just drag the mouse just a little bit away from the end of the curve where you have a red line connecting them and just keep drawing.

  3. #3
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    Quote Originally Posted by hrgiger View Post
    Yes, just drag the mouse just a little bit away from the end of the curve where you have a red line connecting them and just keep drawing.
    OH, man. Thank you! A very subtle visual cue, but now that I see it, it does work.

    And, can you help with an alpha question?

    I loaded a PNG as an alpha with the standard brush. Using DragRect, the corners are fading out even though it's supposed to be square. RF is set to 0 in the alpha modifier. I can post a screen grab is that helps. It's driving me crazy.

    Thank you!
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  4. #4
    Adapting Artist jasonwestmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11,399
    Quote Originally Posted by sadkkf View Post
    OH, man. Thank you! A very subtle visual cue, but now that I see it, it does work.

    And, can you help with an alpha question?

    I loaded a PNG as an alpha with the standard brush. Using DragRect, the corners are fading out even though it's supposed to be square. RF is set to 0 in the alpha modifier. I can post a screen grab is that helps. It's driving me crazy.

    Thank you!
    Can we see the image? If there is any 100% black in the png you are using as an alpha it will be transparent in zbrush.
    All that is powerful or long standing is first conceived in the imagination; supported by the hope of possibility and then made manifest in our commitment of our current physical reality.

  5. #5
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    Here are the grabs:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	zb1.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	29.2 KB 
ID:	137909Click image for larger version. 

Name:	zb2.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	61.6 KB 
ID:	137910

    The alpha is square with a perfectly black border. I can't post it because it was part of a set I paid for.
    Last edited by sadkkf; 09-16-2017 at 12:09 PM.
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  6. #6
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,737
    My guess is that it has something to do with that FALLOFF parameter. Set that to zero and see what happens.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  7. #7
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    My guess is that it has something to do with that FALLOFF parameter. Set that to zero and see what happens.
    Tried that, too. No change.
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  8. #8
    no the focal shift set to zero at the top of your screen not in the brush modifiers panel

  9. #9
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    Quote Originally Posted by gerry_g View Post
    no the focal shift set to zero at the top of your screen not in the brush modifiers panel
    Yikes. That did it...but why? Setting it to -1 worked.
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  10. #10
    Go to Alpha<Modify<Midvalue. Start with a value of 50 and go up or down from there until the edges disappear.

  11. #11
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    Quote Originally Posted by hrgiger View Post
    Go to Alpha<Modify<Midvalue. Start with a value of 50 and go up or down from there until the edges disappear.
    I've tried that, too, and it didn't help. I'm still wondering why Focal Shift does.
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  12. #12
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,737
    Quote Originally Posted by sadkkf View Post
    I've tried that, too, and it didn't help. I'm still wondering why Focal Shift does.
    When you find out, please post.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  13. #13
    Plays with fire sadkkf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside looking in
    Posts
    1,214
    I found this after searching the web:

    "Size of the falloff of the brush in relation to the brush size."

    From here:


    https://www.quora.com/What-is-focal-shift-in-ZBrush
    So much water, so few sharks.

    "...all men are created equal." -- US Declaration of Independence

  14. #14
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,737
    Quote Originally Posted by sadkkf View Post
    I found this after searching the web:
    "Size of the falloff of the brush in relation to the brush size."
    From here:
    https://www.quora.com/What-is-focal-shift-in-ZBrush
    ??? Does that make any sense, that name to that function??
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  15. #15
    no expert on ZBrush but when you use an alpha it completely replaces all the brush attributes, meaning they do nothing, all of those attributes in the brush panel are to do with the look and feel of any stroke you are building and are only in play with a regular brush not an alpha. The settings at the top of the screen are for strength and radial falloff of the brush stroke or alpha you are using, if it wasn't set up like this you would be forever diving into the brush pallet to adjust your brush strength, not to mention you would be forever altering a brush look that you took some time to set up, so you want to alter the amount you alpha or brush affects your surface or you want it to have a falloff or no falloff use the the settings at the top of the screen, hitting spacebar brings them up in a mini dialogue panel too I believe.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •